CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

May 7, 2013

Mother’s Day—Children’s Stories & Poems


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

NOTE: CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS now located at

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

MOTHER’S DAY

CHILDREN’S STORIES & POEMS

Also see 11 Mother’s Day Quotations

th2Also see:

11 Facts About Mother’s Day

 May Celebrations: Part 1

For children (of all ages) I surfed the Internet and found the following sites with stories, poems, and finger plays that provide Mother’s Day entertainment, especially when waiting to see what sweetheart messages await the reader.

(Subscribe to this site to receive, an email of current posts, by typing your email address in the subscribe post at the top right of this page. You will receive an email asking you to confirm the subscription. Emails will not be published.)

JOKES

For weeks, a six-year old lad kept telling his first-grade teacher about the baby brother or sister that was expected at his house. One day, the mother allowed the boy to feel the movements of the unborn child. The six-year old was obviously impressed, but made no comment. Furthermore, he stopped telling his teacher about the impending event. The teacher finally sat the boy on her lap and said, “Tommy, whatever has become of that baby brother or sister you were expecting at home?” Tommy burst into tears and confessed, “I think Mommy ate it!”

More   http://festivals.iloveindia.com/mothers-day/mothers-day-humor.html

CHILD SENT TO BED
A small boy is sent to bed by his mother…
[Five minutes later]
“Mom…”
“What?”
“I’m thirsty. Can you bring me a glass of water?”
“No. You had your chance. Lights out.”
[Five minutes later]
“Mom…”
“WHAT?”
“I’m THIRSTY…Can I have a glass of water??”
“I told you NO! If you ask again I’ll have to spank you!!”
[Five minutes later]
“Mommm…”
“WHAT??!!”
“When you come in to spank me, can you bring me a glass of water?”

More   http://www.mothersdaycelebration.com/mothers-day-humor.html#mothers-day-thoughts-and-quotes

My mom had been getting on my little sisters about not picking up their clothes. I was sitting in my room, and heard my mom say, “Who left all this underwear all over the floor?”
As innocently as an angel, my sister Anne replied, “The Panty Fairy came and left us presents”!

One day, a little girl was watching her mother do the dishes at the kitchen sink. She suddenly noticed that her mother had several strands of white hair sticking out in contrast to her brunette hair. She looked at her mother and inquisitively asked, “Why are some of your hairs white, Mom?”
Her mother replied, “Well, every time that you do something wrong and make me cry or unhappy, one of my hairs turns white.”
The little girl thought about this revelation for a while and then asked, “Momma, how come all of grandma’s hairs are white?”

More  http://www.dayformothers.com/kids-jokes.html

best_mother_colouring_page_460

QUOTES

Happy Mother’s Day to all the women who love a child unconditionally and nurture authentically…whether from the womb or not. God bless you!

More http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Funny_Mothers_Day_Jokes/

Momisms:

I hope that when you grow up, you have kids “Just Like you”! (Also known as the “Mother’s Curse”)

Don’t make that face or it’ll freeze in that position.

If I talked to my mother like you talk to me….

Always change your underwear; you never know when you’ll have an accident.

I slave for hours over a hot stove and this is the thanks I get?!

Honestly… You’d lose your head if it wasn’t screwed on!

More   http://www.mothersdaycelebration.com/momisms.html

“I want my children to have all the things I couldn’t afford. Then I want to move in with them.” – Phyllis Diller

More   http://festivals.iloveindia.com/mothers-day/mothers-day-humor.html

4563909903_6522b83baa_m

TONGUE TWISTERS

A mother to her son did utter
“Go, my son, and shut the shutter”
“The shutter’s shut” the son did utter
“I cannot shut it any shutter!”

More http://www.alphadictionary.com/fun/tongue-twisters/english_tongue_twisters.html

Mary Mac’s mother’s making Mary Mac marry me.
My mother’s making me marry Mary Mac.
Will I always be so Merry when Mary’s taking care of me?
Will I always be so merry when I marry Mary Mac?

from a song by Carbon Leaf

How many cookies could a good cook cook If a good cook could cook cookies? A good cook could cook as much cookies as a good cook who could cook cookies

More  http://www.uebersetzung.at/twister/en.htm

06-mothers-day SONGS

LIST OF 34 MOTHER’S DAY SONGS:

I LOVE MY MOMMY
(Original Author Unknown: Sung to: “Up on the Housetop”)
I love my mommy, Yessiree!
She is very good to me!
She makes me cookies and yummy treats,
That’s my mom and she’s real neat!
Oh, oh, oh, who wouldn’t know,
Oh, oh, oh, who wouldn’t know,
I love my mommy and she loves me,
That’s the way it’s supposed to be!

FIVE PRETTY MOMMIES
(Original Author Unknown: Sung to: “Five Little Ducks”)
Five pretty mommies I once knew,
Fat ones, skinny ones, tall ones, too,
But the one in the middle that belongs to me…
I love her and she loves me!
Down to the grocery we did go,
Wibble – wobble, wibble – wobble, to and fro,
But the one in the middle that belongs to me,
I love her and she loves me!

MOM SAYS
(Original Author Unknown: Sung to: “Twinkle, twinkle little star”)
Sometimes, Mom says, “Don’t do this,”
Sometimes, Mom says, “Don’t do that,”
She still loves me, that I know.
Why? Because she tells me so.
Sometimes, Mom says, “Let’s do this!”
Sometimes, Mom says, “Kiss, kiss, kiss!”

colouring_alphabet_m_460MOTHER’S DAY SONG
(Song by: Tom Gardener)

I don’t remember much about when I was born
But I know you took care of me all day long
I see photos of me making mess after mess
Mother, when ever did you get any rest?

I’m glad you’re my mother and I’m glad I’m your child
I’m sorry if sometimes I act way too wild
but I know you wouldn’t have it any other way
I love you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day!

I managed to grow and you helped all the way
from diapers to bottles to grade after grade
though I don’t say this often I wish I did
after all mom I am only a kid

You know I think you’re pretty so don’t take this wrong
but you look kind of tired pretty much all day long
you drive me all over like a New York city cab
by night time you look like you had it !!    Continue  http://www.mothersdaycelebration.com/mothers-day-songs3.html#thank-you-mom

TOP 40 MOTHER’S DAY SONGS: ULTIMATE MP3 PLAYLIST FROM TEENS TO MOMS

Selections from the list:

Mother and Child Reunion by Paul Simon

If (My Mommy) by Saigon

Mama I’M Coming Home by Ozzy Osbourne

More  http://voices.yahoo.com/top-40-mothers-day-songs-ultimate-mp3-playlist-from-3107193.html

 4563909751_bed3f61c35_mSTORIES

BABY DUCK TRIES TO STAY AWAKE  Some mornings are harder than others to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed (NOTE: especially for mothers). This sweet sleepy duckling is sure doing his best though. See this little guy work so hard to keep his eyes open and shake off his slumber. Will he succeed? Watch now and find out. Be sure not to miss the secret surprise ending!

QUEEN MARGARET AND THE ROBBERS

Albert F. Blaisdell

One day when roses were in bloom, two noblemen came to angry words in the Temple Gardens, by the side of the river Thames. In the midst of their quarrel one of them plucked a white rose from a bush, and, turning to those who were near him, said,

“He who will stand by me in this quarrel, let him pluck a white rose with me, and wear it in his hat.”

Then the other gentleman tore a red rose from another bush, and said,

“Let him who will stand by me pluck a red rose, and wear it as his badge.”

Now this quarrel led to a great civil war, which was called “The War of the Roses,” for every soldier wore a white or red rose in his helmet to show to which side he belonged.

The leaders of the “Red Rose” sided with King Henry the Sixth and his wife, Queen Margaret, who were fighting for the English throne. Many great battles were fought, and wicked deeds were done in those dreadful times.

In a battle at a place called Hexham, the king’s party was beaten, and Queen Margaret and her little son, the Prince of Wales, had to flee for their lives. They had not gone far before they met a band of robbers, who stopped the queen and stole all her rich jewels, and, holding a drawn sword over her head, threatened to take her life and that of her child.

The poor queen, overcome by terror, fell upon her knees and begged them to spare her only son, the little prince. But the robbers, turning from her, began to fight among themselves as to how they should divide the plunder, and, drawing their weapons, they attacked one another. When the queen saw what was happening she  Continue reading http://www.theholidayspot.com/mothersday/stories/margaret_and_robbers.htm

mother_and_daughter_baking_colouring_page_460WHAT DID YOU DO ALL DAY?

One afternoon a man came home from work to find total mayhem in his house. His three children were outside, still in their pajamas, playing in the mud, with empty food boxes and wrappers strewn all around the front yard. The door of his wife’s car was open, as was the front door to the house and there was no sign of the dog.

Proceeding into the entry, he found an even bigger mess. A lamp had been knocked over, and the throw rug was wadded against one wall .. In the front room the TV was loudly blaring a cartoon channel, and the family room was strewn with toys and various items of clothing.

In the kitchen, dishes filled the sink, breakfast food was spilled on the counter, the fridge door was open wide, dog food was spilled on the floor, a broken glass lay under the table, and a small pile of sand was spread by the back door.

He quickly headed up the stairs, stepping over toys and more piles of clothes, looking for his wife. He was worried she may be ill, or that something serious had happened.

He was met with a small trickle of water as it made its way out the bathroom door. As he peered inside he found wet towels, scummy soap and more toys strewn over the floor. Miles of toilet paper lay in a heap and toothpaste had been smeared over the mirror and walls.

As he rushed to the bedroom, he found his wife still curled up in the bed in her pajamas, reading a novel. She looked up at him, smiled, and asked how his day went. He looked at her bewildered and asked, What happened here today?

She again smiled and answered, You know every day when you come home from work and you ask me what in the world did I do today?

Yes was his incredulous reply.
She answered, Well, today I didn’t do it.

http://www.sanitaryum.com/2012/05/12/kids-funny/what-did-you-do-all-day-happy-mothers-day-story/

NOTE: I love the name of this website—sanitaryum—I wish I was that creative!

breakfast_in_bed_colouring_page_460POEMS

Mommy, I Love You – Anonymous

For the fun loving mom that was always there.

Mommy, I love you
For all that you do.
I’ll kiss you and hug you
‘Cause you love me, too.
You feed me and need me
To teach you to play,
So smile ’cause I love you
On this Mother’s Day.

When Mother Reads Aloud – Anonymous

Ahh the worlds momma brings to life in a little one’s mind!

When Mother reads aloud, the past
Seems real as every day;
I hear the tramp of armies vast,
I see the spears and lances cast,
I join the thrilling fray;
Brave knights and ladies fair and proud
I meet when Mother reads aloud.

When Mother reads aloud, far lands
Seem very near and true;
I cross the deserts’ gleaming sands,
Or hunt the jungle’s prowling bands,
Or sail the ocean blue.
Far heights, whose peaks the cold mists shroud,
I scale, when Mother reads aloud.

When Mother reads aloud, I long
For noble deeds to do…
To help the right, redress the wrong;
It seems so easy to be strong,
So simple to be true.
Oh, thick and fast the visions crowd
My eyes, when Mother reads aloud.

More   http://www.mothersdaycentral.com/verse/poems/kids/

KISS FOR MY MUMMYiss for my mummy

Mom,
For Mother’s Day, I would like to….
offer you a nice present…
To offer you the nicest of all the presents!
If I could do so, I would be so happy.
I would give you my heart for you biggest bliss.
While awaiting this moment…
I give you mountains of kisses and thus, make many jealous!

More  http://www.hellokids.com/c_6089/reading-online/poems/mother-s-day-poems/mother-s-day-poetry/kiss-for-my-mummy

i_love_mom_colouring_page_2_460SPECIAL POEM FOR MOTHERS:

ROSES FOR MAMA

© Lynn Casstevens

Lord, are there roses in your garden
On the shores of jubilee
Would you pick a dozen of your best
And deliver them for me?
For you see, today is mothers’ day
And I can’t visit my mom
For it wasn’t very long ago
The angels came and took her home.
So if there are roses in your garden
On the shores of Jubilee
Would you pick a dozen of your best
And deliver them for me?
Would you take them to   continue reading Roses For Mama, Mothers Day Poem http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/roses-for-mama#ixzz2SdMMxUo7

4563909989_c7d27a3c85_m

th

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

In Our Mother’s Womb

May Celebrations: Part 1

May celebrations: Part II

COLORING  PICTURE SOURCES

https://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=Amn1PAAbIetUqHLlmhukICmbvZx4?fr=yfp-t-901-s&toggle=1&cop=mss&ei=UTF-8&p=mother’s%20day%20coloring%20pages%20free

http://www.free-coloring-pages.com/page/06-mothers-day.html

http://www.theclipartwizard.com/mothers-day-coloring-pages.htm

http://www.activityvillage.co.uk/mothers-day-colouring-pages

pad2013w

1 Comment »

  1. […] Mother’s Day – Children’s Stories & Poems […]

    Pingback by Mothers{*} Day Coloring Pages For Children, Kids, Toddlers | Happy mothers day — May 2, 2016 @ 10:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.