CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

December 31, 2015

Out of the Old Blog, a New Magazine is Born

Filed under: blogging,FEATURE STORIES — carolyncholland @ 1:00 am

CAROLYN’S ONLINE MAGAZINE

OUT OF THE OLD A NEW IS BORN

~~~~~~~~~~~~

6 years, 1,330 Posts, 327,848 views from 171 countries

Out of the Old Blog, a New Magazine is Born

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Deep within every beginning is the seed for its ending.

Within each ending is a seed for a new beginning.

Welcome to Carolyn’s Online Magazine (COMe).

When  its predecessor, CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS, started on February 29, 2008 its seed of ending was built in: the WordPress space limitation. Never in my wildest thoughts did I imagine my endeavor would come to an end. But the warning light came on. There is little space left to post articles. The seed for ending sprouted.

The timing is right. The old—two-oh-fourteen—is at an end. January two-oh-fifteen, rings in the new. A ripe time for new beginnings.

As I move on I must ask some hard questions.

I’ll begin by answering the WHY.

As the editor, developing and maintaining CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS was a challenging, ever constant, learning process. It served as an entrance into a communications age that has already moved far beyond blogs.

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS has been an affirming project to both writer and reader.

It’s aided the writer in evaluating trends and issues. Its served as a place to work through issues—to write something requires processing it and putting it in words the average person can understand. It’s offered a forum for a variety of writing genres and provided a writing platform. It’s kept me, the writer of most articles, writing almost every day.

For the reader it’s provided education, fun reading, a different view of issues, and connections to other persons.

Below are a few comments that encouraged me to move on into a new blog.

  • ANCIENT BATHING TECHNIQUES  I must say, your topics are many and most informative.  I enjoy most of the posts that you send out.  Thanks for enlightening my days.   David
  • Playing Santa’s Elf on My Birthday …Carolyn, love your articles.   I read them every morning while drinking my coffee… Carol
  • I like your humor 🙂 and enjoy your articles… 🙂    Merri
  • Awesome pictures…Always looking forward to seeing your pictures and adventures :)…    Lena

And in response to particular articles:

  • Traveling on a Greyhound Bus with Children  Carolyn, thanks for the memories of riding the Greyhound! My mother loved riding the Greyhound, sitting in back of the driver. 🙂  Merri
  • THE HOLLAND 2014 CHRISTMAS LETTER  I love this post, it made me think of some of the articles I read during the year and how interesting your lives are.   I hope I am just like you when I grow up, lol.   I look forward to reading your online magazine…  Carol
  • REPORTS FROM STORM “KNIFE” IN BUFFALO, NEW YORK  November 17 to November 21, 2014   I can’t remember what year it was, but during one storm, I barely made it home from a night shift at our local hospital. I was pushing snow with the front bumper of my car off and on for about three miles. I parked in the drive and had to help a guy in a truck shovel out his truck from a snow drift later in the day. We were snowed in from about 10 a.m. Saturday until 10 p.m. Sunday when the State came through with a scoop bucket to move the snow drifts from the road, The plows couldn’t handle it.  Tom
  • TWO HOLIDAY RECIPES: HORS D’OEUVRES AND UMBLE PIE  Carolyn you have inspired me to check out the internet and see what umble pie recipes are there. Would be fun to have an umble pie contest!   Grace and Fred
  • NATIONAL POETRY MONTH, POEM A DAY, WEEK 4: April 22-30 I’m not much of a poetry person, my least favorite part of school – but your creative twist on it is worth reading!  Grace
  •  MARILYN VAN DERBUR (ATLER): MISS AMERICA 1958: HER INCEST STORY   abuse no matter how long ago it happens. it affects every day of  your whole life  Becky
  • WAS IT IODINE DEFICIENCY? MY STORY   Sometimes old wives tales aren’t so false – many of us have relatives who lived to very ripe old ages while doing and eating things that we now consider “dangerous” for our health – we’ve cut so much out yet we replace it with a prescription drug –  finding what works for us doesn’t always require a medical degree -feeling good is what matters and often invovles a combination of what the doctor can offer and what we can do for ourselves  Fran
  • THREE GARLIC RECIPES   Roasted garlic smeared on fresh bread is one of my very favorite things… and that soup sounds amazing! But make enough for everyone you come in contact with for the rest of the day to also have a bite or you’ll spend a very lonely evening. 🙂  Great recipes!  Jan
  •  These photos are so beautiful, just breathtaking! It’s like seeing the loving grace of God shining down upon you! Thanks for sharing these gorgeous photos!!  Lori

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS enabled genealogical connections through its most commented on post, KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY. It’s enabled two sisters to connect with their birth family after 60 years (read My Mother’s Special 90th Birthday Gift ). CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS has reaped many benefits.

Perhaps blogs are becoming dated, being phased out by other electronic communication media. But perhaps, also, there is room for blogs to hold their own, to still be worthwhile in today’s evolving communication world.

So I welcome you to subscribe to COMe. Your e-mail will not be publicized. However, you will receive an email from WordPress.com asking you to confirm your subscription. Please do. You will then receive an email informing you of each post on COMe.

I want to again thank my subscribers, my readers, and my commenters for their making CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS a success. Thank you for visiting COMe, Carolyn’s Online Magazine.

Carolyn C. Holland

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

