CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

October 12, 2014

God’s Creation: Is It Disgusting?


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

GOD’S CREATION:

IS IT DISGUSTING?

NOTE: This devotion was entered in a devotional writing competition at a conference. The judges didn’t know how to handle it because the content and the style weren’t in the typical format. One judge pulled me aside to tell me that the committee members were befuddled and didn’t know how to respond to this devotion. She ended by saying I should know and write to my audience.

I remained quiet while she explained the situation to me. When she finished  I explained myself.

“I did consider my audience. I was writing to a reader who studied science: biology, chemistry. This audience wants references (she’d told me devotions shouldn’t include references). Typical devotions aren’t written to this audience, so I thought I’d try writing several for this purpose.”

I don’t know if the judge was mollified, but I stand by the option to write devotions that speak to specific audiences.

Let me know what you think.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

SCRIPTURE: Genesis 1:27     God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. (NI)

   Related Scripture: Psalm 139:13-14  I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. (KJV)

REFLECTION:   Although God created a wonderful being, the human, I’ve found that a built in life-saving technique may be—is—unpalatable for most people. It has to do with what we consider human waste.

Human waste, urine, not only stops infection when applied to wounds, but it can also be recycled as a re-hydration beverage.

“Disgusting,” you say.

But be patient. Release your prejudice and bias, if only for the moment it takes you to finish this devotion.

“There are many survival stories where people saved and drank their own urine to conserve body water,” according to Terry T. Turner, professor of urology and cell biology at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

“Shocking as it might sound, there are actually ‘urine therapy’ proponents who say they imbibe routinely from their own tap,” says online Newton’s Ask a Scientist Service of the Argonne, Ill., National Laboratory.

“In addition to being 95 percent water, urine contains a smorgasbord of dissolved salts and other solids that scientists are still cataloging…Among these are vitamins, amino acids, antibodies, enzymes, hormones, antigens, interleukins, proteins, immunoglobulins, gastric secretory depressants, immunogens, uric acid, urea, proteases, growth inhibitory factors in human cancers and urokinase.

“Believe it or not, scientists have known for years that urine is antibacterial, anti-protozoal, antifungal, antiviral and antituberculostatic.”

Wow, what a product God supplied us with! And it’s not even over the counter or expensive! It’s just disgusting!

We can truly say, “…I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works” when we realize the extent of the cycle of life that God designed.

Print

PRAYER: Lord, we are all subject to cultural prejudice and bias. Release us from these, even momentarily, so we can grow and understand your marvelous works. After all, we ARE wonderfully and marvelously made, down to the nitty gritty. Thank you for this. Amen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

IMAGE SOURCES

http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/Kudiseases/pubs/yoururinary/index.aspx

2 Comments »

  1. So, we should all have a glass of our waste water once in a while, instead of the glass of vodka. Might taste better then some of the beers on todays market… who knows.

    Comment by David — October 12, 2014 @ 2:15 pm | Reply

  2. Hum mm… Interesting subject…on how wonderful and marvelous God creation is. But I’m not quite ready for a glass of urine. But when put to the test, who knows!? 🙂

    Comment by merry101 — October 13, 2014 @ 8:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

