CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

August 12, 2014

Supermoon: August 10, 2014


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

SUPERMOON: AUGUST 10, 2014

140810 IMG_9899E

In February 2002, while writing a story about moon rocks, I was privileged to hold some samples, which were embedded in plastic. They were in the care of  Tony Henderson, who then headed the Geibel Aerospace Program and was a member of the US Air Force Auxiliary, CAP.

“I even have to take them to the bathroom with me,” she joked.

On Sunday evening, August 10, 2014, there was a super moon— which occurs when a full moon or new moon coincides with the closest approach the moon makes to Earth, the result is an exceptionally large appearance.* The special cosmological treat is unmatched by the year’s previous three moons, which were unofficially granted the title of supermoon, whose sizes are a mere 10% smaller.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I attempted to photograph a super moon under adverse conditions. I was without tripod, and thus could only hand hold my camera. Not only that, I’d been neglectful in charging my spare battery, and the one in my camera went kaput after several shots. Talk about a photographer’s nightmare! However, I did the best I could.

I lost my opportunity to take quality photos of the year’s most magnificent supermoon, the biggest and brightest full moon of the year.  But as the cliches directs, when life hands you lemons, you can make lemonade.

While snapping away I noticed I was getting not your every day good moon photos, but surprisingly artistic results. Here is one of my “lemons:”

140810 IMG_9904 - Copy

Being on an artistic roll, I decided to play with some of the simple special effects found in my art workshop. Below are some of my results:

140810 IMG_9904e mir

140810 IMG_9904E posterize

140810 IMG_9904e swirlContinuing on with my photographic art, using the photo at the beginning this article:

140810 IMG_9899E swirl

140810 IMG_9899E tile cool

My photographic lemon turned out to be an interesting drink. What do you think?

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Moon Rocks

Professor Spends $1500 to Abort Moon Landing of Apollo-11

A Blue Moon On New Year’s Eve 2009

SOURCE

*   http://triblive.com/usworld/nation/6584942-74/moon-domagal-goldman#axzz39yKkuNax

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

