CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

July 27, 2014

Do All Families Talk Perversely?


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS Movicon2-happy

Hug for

DO ALL FAMILIES TALK PERVERSELY?

A Devotion

Theatrical release poster by John Alvin

Theatrical release poster by John Alvin

After seeing the movie ET my friend Paul and I had a lively discussion.

“Did they really have to include the kids smoking and the off-color jokes?” I asked. “This ruined the movie for me because it role-modeled negative behavior for kids.”

“This is how all families talk,” said Paul, a youthful manager of a local pizza business, implying I was being too critical.

His statement troubled me. All families talk perversely? The style of joking and pattern of smoking didn’t exist in our household! Was our family different? Was I too critical of “normal” behavior?

I began an unscientific mental survey of our friends. Merle and Naomi, Tom and Diane, Shirl and Wayne, Phyllis and Gene. Did any of them talk that way? I didn’t believe so. Apparently not all families talk perversely and in a manner debasing God’s creation.

Perhaps these families, modeling their behavior on Scriptural imperatives, are not the present day norm. Perhaps these families who show (them)selves guileless and above reproach, faultless children of God in a warped and crooked generation, shine like stars in a dark world and proffer the word of life. (Philippians 2:15, NEB)

Perhaps if today’s perverse and crooked generation whose faults have proved them no children of his(Deuteronomy 32:5-6, NEB)

were to review their behavior they would be convinced to become more Christ-like.

Meanwhile, don’t be fooled. Not all families accept the standards put out in today’s media frenzy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

A 6-Part Study of The Lord’s Prayer: Part 1

Jesus Refuses to Drink the Wine Mixed With Myrrh

Is Your Table Big Enough? If not, add a leaf…

3 Comments »

  1. our family don’t talk in today’s standards. I don’t watch movies or many TV shows because of the language. I’m turned off by today’s acceptance of bad language.

    Comment by merry101 — July 28, 2014 @ 3:35 am | Reply

  2. Hmmm, Hollywood families may talk like the movie family at home, but bad language is not allow in their kids public/private schools. Now days smoking is banned from almost all public buildings & their grounds. I’ve known of employees at our local hospitals who got into trouble for smoking in the parking lot before or after work.

    Comment by Grace (&Fred) — July 28, 2014 @ 6:14 am | Reply

  3. I was not raised, nor did I bring up my kids to talk perversely. I’m very turned off by our society’s acceptance of bad language (and behavior). My feeling is: if you can’t speak without using foul language, then please don’t talk at all. At least not to me.

    Comment by Pam — July 29, 2014 @ 8:55 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

