CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

May 24, 2014

Recognizing a Veteran: Robert W.Cornell


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

RECOGNIZING A VETERAN, ROBERT W. CORNELL

NOTE:

If you were a student of Chief Navy Photographer Robert W. Cornell,

I’d like to hear from you.

Please make a note in the comment box following this post.

It’s not surprising that a child follows in his/her father’s footsteps, It’s a twist when the child is separated from his/her father and his family at an early age, having no paternal contact or influence.

This is my situation. My parents were divorced before I began school, and before that his Navy career kept him away from the routine contact we would have had had he had a job where he came home every night.

Thus, it is a twist that when I first picked up a camera in my early teens I used it creatively and with joy. I wrote of our connection earlier: Two Photographers Named Cornell  

Being that this is Memorial Day I’m departing from posting pictures I’ve taken and, as a twist, I am posting a few pictures shot by my father, career Navy man Robert W. Cornell, Chief Naval Photographer.

Chief Navy Photographer Robert William Cornell

Chief Navy Photographer Robert William Cornell

BLIMP 001E

AIRPLANE 002-1E

AIRPLANE 003-1E

Hurricane causing 60 ft. wavesover USS Bennington, 1953

Hurricane causing 60 ft. wavesover USS Bennington, 1953

SHIP PIX 001  EN ED2

NOTE: The wordpress photo challenge for May 23, 2014, is “Twist”: the unexpected, the surprise…,What does “twist” mean to you?

2 Comments »

  1. My parents’ divorced I began school…I never had contact with him again until after I was married.
    He loved books…so do I. We could lose ourselves in books. My mother was a doer…always busy. 🙂

    Comment by merry101 — May 27, 2014 @ 8:56 pm | Reply

  2. Carolyn, sorry, words left out that post… coughing again. ugh 🙂 [before I began school]

    Comment by merry101 — May 27, 2014 @ 8:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

