CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

April 13, 2014

Walk a Mile in Her Shoes© 2014: Greensburg, PA


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

Movicon2-happy

Hugs for all those who participated in

the Walk a Mile in Her Shoes®

IMG_4084E 140412

WALK A MILE IN HER SHOES®
2014: GREENSBURG, PA
Featuring Seton Hill University’s Football Team Comments

IMG_4015My husband Monte’s adventure started on February 26, 2014, with a visit to St. Vincent de Paul’s in Latrobe, Pennsylvania. He was looking for a pair of women’s shoes.

As he started looking a woman at the shoes said to him “The men’s shoes are over there . He was over . I turned to her and said “He’s looking for a pair of woman’s shoes.” She looked at me like we were both some type of wierdos.

IMG_3320E 140226

I waited for a few minutes and explained. Monte was planning on participating, for the second year, in the Walk a Mile in Her Shoes®. The April 12, 2014, event was sponsored by the Blackburn Center Against Domestic and Sexual Violence in Greensburg, which was intended to raise issues around gender violence. She began to laugh and help him find a pair of shoes as other customers eyed him suspiciously.

IMG_3319EFinally, Monte and I left the store with him a happy new owner of a pair of women’s flat dress shoes (he said his foot wasn’t flexible enough to wear heels).

IMG_4034E 140412The Walk a Mile in Her Shoes® event benefits the Blackburn Center’s education and outreach activities that sustain the agency’s mission to end domestic and sexual violence. It is intended to actively welcome and involve men in the center’s mission, to raise issues around gender violence, and to get men to think about the path women travel.

The 2014 walk, held at St. Clair Park in Greensburg, was the fourth year for this event. The weather provided a wonderful backdrop for the walk, reaching up towards 70o F. The sun shed sufficient heat that jacket came off and shorts were appropriate.

The first year 300 persons participated in snowy weather. The second year 400 walkers participated, and last year there were 640 walkers. This year there was about a 1000 walkers hoping to erase gender violence. One speaker noted that it was impressive being at the back of the line, seeing an impressive crowd on both sides of the street. Another said that when there is a need, the whole county comes to the fore, from out of the hills and out of the cities.

IMG_4050E  140412

IMG_4054E 140412

Part of the event was offering men the opportunity to not only walk the walk, but also to talk the talk by signing a pledge. This ten point pledge states a commitment to take important steps in ending domestic and sexual violence.

Monte met up with Jim Galik and Jean Slusser of Strangford (near Blairsville). Jim wore a pair of size 12 wedge heels. I walked along with them—well, ahead of and behind them, because I was exercising my trigger finger (my weapon: the camera).

IMG_4032e 140412

IMG_4033  140412During the walk I saw one man take off his pair of women’s shoes and replace them with his own footwear. Other men paused to remove the shoes and rub their sore feet. However, many of the men completed the walk with no problem. One man even ran his mile “walk.”

It was a perfect day for children and dogs to walk.

Aren't my red shoes adorable?

Aren’t my red shoes adorable?

Ummm, ummm, good...the best part of the event

Ummm, ummm, good…the best part of the event

Where are my shoes?

Where are my shoes?

Members of the Seton Hill University (Greensburg, PA) football team participated in this walk, as they had in previous years. After the walk I spoke with some of the team members.

Below are some of their comments.

  • Great, fantastic, I don’t know how they do it. My feet are killing me. I need to get a foot massage.
  • Good. I learned how to run, strut, and walk in heels and now I have another big toe.
    It was a great experience being with people…preventing domestic violence. They gave me flats.
  • My feet hurt. I think I just developed a corn on my right toe. Wearing heels is worse than playing football.
    It (the experience) was good. I liked it. I wouldn’t wear heels every day. I can maybe do it once a year.
  • Running (in heels)is better than walking in them. You’re not getting as much force on each food because the steps you are taking are bigger and quicker (I found the man who was running his walk).
  • I did my dance before taking off my shoes.
  • I did all right, I think. Oh yeah, it hurt. Not a chance I’d wear heels every day.
My feet hurt!

My feet hurt!

Toward the end of my talking to the football team I thought of a new question, which I wish I’d asked the others. The question raised the issue of women being viewed as being sexy in heels, and if that view changed because of participating in this walk.

  • It was interesting. A different experience. I feel sorry for women who wear heels all the time. I wouldn’t substitute sexiness for her wearing them every day.
  • It was an experience. It’s painful. Yea, women are sexy with heels. Now, if they don’t wear heels, I understand. It’s painful.

IMG_4059E 140412From a walker not a football player: It was interesting. I have a new sense of empathy for women. I recognize more now that what is fashionable can also be quite painful.

And Monte? He doesn’t particularly view high heels as being sexy. His feet didn’t hurt too much at the end of the walk, but then again, he said I was wearing flats, not high heels, but I guess to really get the effect I should get some small heels. He considers women wearing the really high heels as not being too smart, noting that obviously, work shoes can be attractive without being super casual. He again signed the Men’s Pledge.

And so ended another Walk a Mile in Her Shoes® event. IMG_4042E 140412

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Domestic Violence Category

Men Walk a Mile in Her Shoes® in Greensburg, PA 2013

Breaking a Confidence to Protect a Friend

Preach Christian Principles to an Abuse Victim????

Download the Men’s Pledge

4 Comments »

  1. Personally – I do not think that women should walk in high heels either,  – it is hard on the feet – why do women torture themselves – this way?  

    ________________________________

    Comment by Fred Wells — April 13, 2014 @ 2:53 pm | Reply

  2. Isn’t it just like you and Monty to be right up front helping your community every way you can and I am sure Monty looks fab in those shoes……….

    Comment by Carol Demi — April 14, 2014 @ 9:33 am | Reply

  3. Wow! another great blog. Thanks, Carolyn.
    My husband wouldn’t wear the heels and he don’t like for me to wear them.

    Comment by merry101 — April 15, 2014 @ 8:44 am | Reply

  4. […] participating in the Walk a Mile in Her Shoes® in 2014 I watched one man take off his women’s shoes and replace them with his own footwear. Other men […]

    Pingback by He Walked a Mile in ‘Her Shoes’ | Carolyn's Online Magazine — April 14, 2016 @ 8:32 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

