CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

March 5, 2014

Where I Learned Key Church & Scripture Readings


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

WHERE I LEARNED KEY

CHURCH & SCRIPTURE READINGS

GUEST WRITER MONTE W. HOLLAND

~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Wednesdays during Lent my husband Monte will present a discussion on the Lord’s Prayer—what it means in our lives and some valuable comments about it by theologians of the past.

He will begin by sharing about where he learned about key church and Scripture readings, then continue with A 6-Part Study of The Lord’s Prayer: Part 1.

Hill of Crosses, Lithuania

Hill of Crosses, Lithuania

NOTE: The main photo appearing on each part of this study features the Hill of Crosses in Lithuania. To learn about this spectacular site click on Hill of Crosses in Lithuania

Readers and commenters on the Upper Room on-line devotional site, where there is an active group of readers responding to the daily devotional, are sometimes  exposed to devotionals related to the Lord’s Prayer, which has started some good discussions.

Before beginning my discussion of the Lord’s Prayer I’ll consider and share some of my personal faith journey.

As I think back to my childhood, my family didn’t attend church regularly. Their only church involvement was showing up, maybe once a month.

What are the givens? What are the things that I don’t have to take time to look up? Where did I commit them to my memory base?

Here is a partial list:

  • The Lord’s Prayer: I learned and repeated the Lord’s Prayer in a rather secular setting, the locker room of our wrestling team, where it was recited before our high school wrestling matches. Our coach was a great teacher and leader even though he was not an active church person.
  • The Ten Commandments: I think I started to learn the Ten Commandments in a once-a-week elementary school release time when I went for a short session with the pastor at the nearby Methodist Church.
  • The Doxology: I learned this in the worship setting
  • The Gloria Patri: I learned this in the worship setting
  • The Apostles Creed: The Apostles Creed is one of those things that you learn in confirmation class. It is reinforced in United Methodist worship by both congregational repetition and as part of the Great Thanksgiving in the Holy Communion service.
  • Familiar stories of Jesus: I learned many of the stories about Jesus in Vacation Bible School
  • The Golden Rule: Learned through church activities
  • The Great Commandment: Learned through church activities
  • Key Scripture verses: I learned these in Sunday school classes.

Those are my memories of learning things of the faith. What are yours? I welcome you to share your learning experience in the comment box below (your email will not be posted).

Next week I will start the first part on a discussion of the Lord’s Prayer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

11 Facts About Lent

Post List for the Lenten Study: The Seven Deadly Sins

Post List for A Daily Online Lenten Study

26 Devotions Based on the Alphabet: Introduction

4 Comments »

  1. Monty and Carolyn, I really enjoyed this one. I didn’t know everything about Lent and now I do and truly appreciate. See you on March 11th………….

    Carol Demi

    Comment by Carol P. Demi — March 5, 2014 @ 9:28 am | Reply

  2. A few years ago, I wrote this, so people might actually THINK about the words they repeat in “sing-song” unison every Sunday morning. The Pastor thought it was good enough to include in the bulletin, for our Worship Service.
    I offer it to you this morning:

    Our Heavenly Father, even YOUR Name is Holy! Your Kingdom is here, with us.
    May YOUR Will be done here on Earth, as It is done in Heaven.
    Give us today our daily Bread of Life, and please forgive our wrongdoings, as YOU bid
    us to forgive anyone who has wronged us.
    Please, do not let us give in to the things that tempt us, but deliver us from the Evil One.
    For THINE is YOUR Kingdom, and YOUR Power, and YOUR Glory, forEVER! Amen.

    Comment by RuthY — March 5, 2014 @ 10:37 am | Reply

  3. Hello, Carolyn and Monte…I enjoy singing the Lord’s Prayer. I’m surprised no one mentioned singing it, in the UR discussions.
    My family wasn’t regular in their church attendance…but strangely, I’ve always liked attending worship services, enjoyed Sunday school, and other activities. But my 3 younger siblings never have. Interesting, I’m the healthiest… 🙂

    Comment by merry101 — March 5, 2014 @ 11:24 pm | Reply

  4. Thank you all for commenting. I appreciate your contributions that enhance this online magazine. Keep up the good work! Merry, you are so loyal at commenting. Carolyn

    Comment by carolyncholland — March 5, 2014 @ 11:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

