CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

October 15, 2013

Ligonier Days 2013


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

Movicons2-hugsandkisses(3)
Hugs for everyone who worked to make Ligonier Days a success.

LIGONIER DAYS 2013

My husband Monte and I arrived at our Ligonier Valley Pennsylvania home just in time for me to attend Ligonier Days. We had been traveling for 32 days and were barely unpacked when off I went to attend the festivities.

Mother Nature intervened by providing perfect weather conditions from beginning to end on Saturday.

Fortunately, I’ve lived in the community long enough to know how to maneuver around the community on parade day, the busiest day of the year in Ligonier. I had lined up a parking place, knowing I needed to be in town before 9:00 a. m. (or risk being caught in parade activity).

I also prearranged for the use of an apartment to take refuge and a prime location to take photos of the parade.

That left me plenty of time to stroll about town with my ever-present camera before the parade began.

NOTE: Parade pictures will be featured here on Saturday, October 19.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

For folks wanting to be in the know the information booth is located on the Diamond on the east side of the Gazebo:

IMG_2456E

Food is always a major feature of the weekend:

IMG_2725E

IMG_2728E

IMG_2454E
I caught Vaughn Cost enjoying an early-in-the-day treat (anything goes on this weekend) while sitting on the porch of the Karat Shoppe:

IMG_1706E

The crowds coming to enjoy the parade start gathering before mid-morning:

IMG_1709E

The “boot” is passed around to accept donations to the fire department:

IMG_1715E

After the parade and repeatedly during the weekend there are two reenactments of the Battle of Fort Ligonier, at Fort Ligonier. Unfortunately, I didn’t attend any of these events.

This photo of the Fort Ligonier Battle was taken while I walked along a side street:

IMG_2716E

After the parade the West Virginia University Band played on the east side of the Diamond:

IMG_2348E

There were also approximately 150 craft booths to explore. However, having traveled for 32 days and wanting to stay with Sal, I decided to forgo visiting them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I spent my time with Sal Martin, who was selling Warpath, a book about a family which was captured by the Indians during the French and Indian War. They escaped and returned home several years later. It is a true historical fiction story about ancestors of her late husband, Charles R. Martin. She also had her book, Mustang Sally’s Guide to World Bicycle Touring, about her biking around the world at age 65, and Chuck’s book I was Glad I Was Here, a collection of his photographs. We sat there enjoying talking with people who stopped by, and sold a few books in the process.

IMG_2415E

Saturday evening entertainment was provided by Beatlemania Magic:

IMG_2577E

IMG_2465E

IMG_2585EDuring intermission French and Indian War re-enactors paraded around the diamond:

IMG_2511E The culmination of Saturday’s events were fireworks:

IMG_2670E

I cannot do the day justice in this writing. I can only relate my experience. I hope all who attended had a nice a time as I did.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Submarines, the Beatles, Sloops, and Apples

For reading on Ligonier, Pennsylvania, click on Carolyn’s Compositions Ligonier category:

https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/category/ligonier-pa-2/

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you enjoyed the festival. Interesting.

    Comment by merry — October 17, 2013 @ 12:12 am | Reply

  2. Nice synopsis of the day including photos. Welcome back!

    Comment by Dmitri Beljan — October 17, 2013 @ 11:42 am | Reply

    • Why thank you, kind fella’. Glad to be back… but still want to be lounging on my favorite beaches!

      Comment by carolyncholland — October 17, 2013 @ 12:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

