CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

September 12, 2013

Lighthouse Cruise on Narragansett Bay, Rhode Island


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS is now located at Carolyn’s Online Magazine.

After reading about the lighthouse cruise I invite you to visit the new site.

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

 Movicons2-hugsandkisses(3)

Hugs to Nancy, Justin, Kirsten & Debbie

LIGHTHOUSE CRUISE

ON

NARRAGANSETT BAY, RHODE ISLAND

All Aboard

The Ava Pearl is about to depart from Quonset Point for a 30-mile 95 minute cruise featuring 10 lighthouses in Narragansett Bay, Rhode Island.

IMG_6695E

The major land mass Ava Pearl circles is Conanicut Island, the location of Jamestown.

Ava Pearl is a brand new state-of-the-art high-speed catamaran seating 150 passengers. My husband Monte and I were among a group of about 50-75 sightseers who took the tour on September 10, 2013.

The day was overcast, slightly threatening a storm. Still, the temperature was comfortable. I wore my sweater because I knew ocean breezes could be cool.

Before boarding the boat the lineup for the unisex restroom (in the registration building) was constant. However, a notice said there were three restrooms on the Ava Pearl for the passenger’s convenience.

In line, people were friendly. While walking up the ramp to board a woman asked me if I would take a picture of her and her friend with her Canon camera. It wouldn’t click. It must have recognized me as electronics illiterate. So I took her picture on my camera and recorded her email address.

The ride began quite breezy. I stood beside the rail taking pictures.

Beaver Tail Lighthouse taken from the boat

Beaver Tail Lighthouse taken from the boat

Beaver Tail Lighthouse taken during a visit on land

Beaver Tail Lighthouse taken during a visit on land

I knew my skirt was blowing up some, but it was worse than I imagined. According to Monte my skirt blew quite high. Fortunately, I wore a bathing suit underneath because we’d visited Beach #2 in Newport before driving to Quonset Point, so I wasn’t worried.

A man nearby smiled when I lowered my camera.

IMG_7347E

“I took a video of you,” he said. “I’m putting it on Facebook.”

What harm? No one would see my face,

“I’d like a copy of that,” I said, handing him my business card with my email address on it. He agreed to send it to me. We’ll see…I recorded his email in case he fails to follow through on his part.

Meanwhile, Monte told me he’d seen the wind attack my skirt and decided to take a picture. When he did everyone laughed more.

“I’m wearing a bathing suit,” I said to Monte. “Perhaps I should take off my skirt and just wear my bathing suit. It might be less suggestive.

Once out on the open water the breezes diminished and things calmed down. But as we reached the southern tip of Conanicut Island the sea swells began rocking the boat like a baby’s cradle. I expected the passengers to begin crooning Rock-a-by-baby at any time. I love this wild sea but I hope any storm waits until after this cruise to develop. I lost my balance and almost fell, but caught myself by grabbing onto the edge of a seat.

IMG_6940E

I continued to take pictures, switching sides of the boat as needed.

Conanicut Island Light House

Conanicut Island Light House

We sailed under the Jamestown Bridge from which I had taken a photograph of the Plum Lighthouse.

IMG_6851E

IMG_6829E

Taken while driving over the Jamestown Bridge

Taken while driving over the Jamestown Bridge

While passing through Newport Harbor, at 5 miles per hour, Arthur Strauss, our host narrator, pointed out a boat that was a replica of the Providence.

“That’s the boat that’s on my research list,” I told Monte as I shot several pictures.

Not a lighthouse, but how would you like to live in this house?

Not a lighthouse, but how would you like to live in this house?

After the tour I approached Mr. Strauss to ask him about it. He said the Providence was commissioned by John Paul Jones in the Revolutionary War, and must have survived.* Boats that survived the war were turned into boats with peacetime uses.

He suggested we do more research, beyond what he could offer.

*The Revolutionary War era boat the Providence was destroyed by the British in the Penobscot Bay confrontation, in order to avoid having the French take it over.

All-in-all it was a thoroughly enjoyable tour we could recommend to anyone interested.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Submarines, the Beatles, Sloops, and Apples

Rhode Island: Part 1

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

Start of a New England Vacation

1 Comment »

  1. […] Lighthouse Cruise on Narragansett Bay, Rhode Island […]

    Pingback by Messages in the Sand: A Farewell to Wallis Sands Beach, N. H. | Carolyn's Online Magazine — January 24, 2015 @ 1:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

