CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

June 11, 2013

Father’s Day—Children’s Stories & Poems


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

 FATHER’S DAY:

 CHILDREN’S STORIES & POEMS

thumb_hammer_saw_wrenchFor children (of all ages) I surfed the Internet and found the following sites with stories, poems, and finger plays that provide Father’s Day entertainment, especially when waiting to see what sweetheart messages await the reader.

(Subscribe to this site to receive, an email of current posts, by typing your email address in the subscribe post at the top right of this page. You will receive an email asking you to confirm the subscription. Emails will not be published.)

fathers_day_colour_by_number_460

JOKES

Father’s Day always worried James. He was afraid that he will get a gift he can’t afford.

More http://www.freetimejokes.com/latest-jokes/jokes/165-fathers-day-jokes/

What did the father ghost say to the naughty baby ghost?
Spook when you’re spooken to!

Teacher (on phone): You say Michael has a cold and can’t come to school today? To whom am I speaking?
Voice: This is my father.

More http://www.activityvillage.co.uk/jokes_for_fathers_day.htm

Science teacher: When is the boiling point reached?
Science student: When my father sees my report card!

Pee Wee: How is the baby bird like its dad?
Westy: How?
Pee Wee: It’s a chirp off the old block.

Jacob: I have a lot of my dad’s genes.
Dave: Really? I bet they don’t fit.

More http://boyslife.org/features/20917/20-funny-jokes-for-fathers-day/

a-big-hug-for-dad-is-the-_4f4c92aad2ca4-p

TONGUE TWISTERS

Dearest Daddy dear drags dreary dragons, dares demons, dives deep into diaper duty, and demonstrates devotion to darling dimpled daughters.

More http://www.thelivingguru.com/fathers-day-poems-and-stories-for-kids/

Father, mother, sister, brother,
hand in hand with one another.

th2QUOTES

A father is a banker provided by nature.” — French Proverb

“One father is more than a hundred schoolmasters.” — George Herbert

“Honor thy father and thy mother.” — Matthew 19:19

“I don’t know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” — Abraham Lincoln

More http://www.chiff.com/a/fathers-day-quotes.htm

vaderdag011-150x150SONGS

YOU ARE SPECIAL!
(to the tune of “Are You Sleeping?”)

You are special, you are special,
Every day, every day!
Now on Father’s Day
Oh my dearest Daddy,
I will say,
“I love you!”

More http://www.theholidayzone.com/father/fsongs.html

MY SPECIAL FRIEND
Sung to: “Yankee Doodle”

Daddy is my special friend,
The two of us are buddies.
I always like the things we do,
I’m thankful for my daddy.

THANK YOU, DAD
Sung to: “Jingle Bells”

Thank you, Dad
Thank you, Dad
Thanks for loving me.
Hugs and kisses, hugs and kisses,
Comes to you from me.

Thank you, Dad
Thank you, Dad
You are such a friend.
On this day I’d like to say,
On you I can depend.

More http://www.fathersdaycelebration.com/fathers-day-songs.html#dear-old-dad

 

STORIES

DADDY HAD 2 SONS—HARDWORKING AND LAZY

Lazy son didn’t want to work, and asked daddy for daddy’s fortune to be shared with him.

Lazy son took away the money, squandered and lost all the money. One day, out of desperation as he had nowhere to sleep and nothing to eat, he decided to ask daddy for forgiveness – he would be happy if Daddy took him in as a servant to work.

To Lazy son’s surprise, Daddy rushed out to meet him when Daddy saw him coming back… and Daddy hugged him and kissed him…. totally forgiving him and giving him love.

Hardworking son spent days and nights working at the field, looking after daddy’s farms with great love and care.

He was shocked when he saw Daddy rushing to welcome Lazy son back home….and totally sad that Daddy was showing favourtism…

When Hardworking son asked Daddy why he was so unfair, Daddy said : “Son, ALL that I have IS yours…”

Dear Readers : Your daddy will always love you and give you the best. Sometimes if you don’t know and don’t ask, you don’t realize that he’s given you everything.

MORE http://www.thelivingguru.com/fathers-day-poems-and-stories-for-kids/

DADDY DOESN’T WANT TO PLAY WITH ME!
Author Uknown

Once there was a little boy who wanted his dad to teach him how to play catch. One sunny day the little boy’s father was sitting on the couch, drinking a beer, while watching a baseball game. The boy rushed into the house exclaiming

“Daddy, daddy, daddy, show me how to play catch!” The father, blankly starring at the television screen, replied ” In a little while son, let me finish watching this inning, come back in five minutes.”

“Okay daddy” said the boy and ran out of the room. Five minutes later the boy returned screaming “Daddy, let’s go, let’s play some catch now!”

The father turned to the boy and said hold on son the inning is not quite over come back in five more minutes. “Okay, daddy” said the boy as he shuffled out the room. Five minutes later the boy returned ball and glove in hand eagerly awaiting for his father to play some catch.

“Daddy, lets go, I want to be Ken Griffey Jr.!” shouted the boy.

By this time, the father had cracked open another cold one and another inning was taking place. Frustrated by the boy’s constant hindrances, the dad scanned the room. While scanning the room the father notice a magazine underneath the coffee table. On the cover of the magazine was a large picture of the world. The father, who was angered & annoyed, began tearing the magazine cover in to small pieces. After a few moments, of shredding up the magazine cover, the father placed the torn pieces on the magazine. Then, the father turned to his boy and said “Son, once you put this picture of the world (to continue reading
http://www.dizzyboy.com/stories/fathers-day-stories/fathers_day_story_three.html   )

fathers-day-coloring-page-13POEMS

DADDY’S HANDS

©Nancy L. Meek 2003

Castles on the beach

Made with buckets full of sand

And tiny sandy fingers

Cupped inside my daddy’s hands

Slipping down the slide

My daddy was so tall

He held my (continue http://lilripple2001.tripod.com/DaddysHands.html  )

WALK A LITTLE SLOWER, DADDY

“Walk a little slower Daddy” said a child so small,
“I’m following in your footsteps and I don’t want to fall.
Sometimes your steps are very fast,
Sometimes they’re hard to see;
So walk a little slower, Daddy,
For you are leading me.
Someday when I’m all grown up,
You’re what I want to be;
Then I will have a little child
Who’ll want to follow me.
And I would want to lead just right,
And know that I was true,
So walk a little slower, Daddy,
For I must follow you.”
~Author Unknown

MORE http://faithfulprovisions.com/2012/06/05/3-poems-about-fathers-day/

There once was a father named Fred
Who had little hair on his head
But he opened tight lids
And loved all his kids
And tucked them each night in their beds.

More http://www.thelivingguru.com/fathers-day-poems-and-stories-for-kids/

You’ve read me stories
And tickled my toes
Given me cuddles
And wiped my nose

You’ve played my games
Again and again
And built a go-kart,
Tree-house and den

You’ve been my taxi
And helped me learn
Given me money
Which I didn’t earn

You’ve cheered me up
Whenever I’m sad
Today is for you, ‘cos
You’re the best, Dad!

and

This is for you, Dad
For today, I won’t make you sad
And I won’t make you mad
Because I am so very glad
That you are my Dad

More http://www.poems-jokes-songs-for-kids.com/fathers-day-poems-from-kids.html

DADDY, I LOVE YOU
(author unknown)

Daddy, I love you
For all that you do.

I’ll kiss you and hug you
‘Cause you love me, too.

You feed me and need me
To teach you to play.

So smile because I love you
On this Happy Father’s Day.

A SPECIAL DAD LIKE YOU
(author unknown)

I think you should know
You mean the world to me,
I can’t imagine anyone else
Could give so unselfishly.

For all the things you’ve done for me,
All the times that you were there,
Are why I know deep down inside
How much you really care.

Though I might not always say
That I appreciate what you do,
I feel so very richly blessed
To have a special dad like you.

More http://quality-kids-crafts.com/songs_fathersday.html

UNTITLED

A father is someone that
holds your hand at the fair
makes sure you do what your mother says
holds back your hair when yor are sick
brushes that hair when it is tangled because mother is too busy
lets you eat ice cream for breakfeast
but only when mother is away
he walks you down the aisle
and tells you everythings gonna be ok

WHAT IS A DAD?

A dad is someone who
wants to catch you before you fall
but instead picks you up,
brushes you off,
and lets you try again.
A dad is someone who
wants to keep you from making mistakes
but instead lets you find your own way,
even though his heart breaks in silence
when you get hurt.
A dad is someone who
holds you when you cry,
scolds you when you break the rules,
shines with pride when you succeed,
and has faith in you even when you fail…

More http://www.e-forwards.com/2013/05/dont-forget-fathers-day/

playing_baseball_colouring_page_460

worlds_greatest_dad_diploma_460

th1~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

CHILDREN story category on CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

A Father-Daughter reunion after 30 years

Fathers, do not provoke your children to wrath

June celebrations: Part 2

June Celebrations: Part 1

IMAGE SOURCES

http://www.coloring.ws/t.asp?b=m&t=http://www.coloring.ws/holidays/dad1.gif

http://twistynoodle.com/coloring-pages/holiday/fathers-day/

pad2013w

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

