CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

January 15, 2013

Daily Post: 32 Flavors…of Writing Resolutions Part 2


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS
MY “32” 2013 WRITING RESOLUTIONS

Two items came to the fore consecutively. The title of the WordPress Daily Prompt was 32 Flavors. A writing article, Thirty-One Writing-Related Resolutions, with one resolution added, could become 32 Flavors of Writing.
Below is Part 2 of my evaluating the 31 New Year’s resolutions (plus one) in terms of my 2013 writing goals. Resolutions with a singles star denote what I accept as my 2013 Writing Resolutions. Items with a double star are already a part of my writing philosophy.
If you are a writer, evaluate your 2013 goals as you read. Post your conclusions and comments in the comment box at the end of this post.
To read Part 1 click on Daily Post: 32 Flavors…of Writing Resolutions

...to start writing...

…to start writing…

17. Get Organized* ** I don’t need to file financial records (making no money) or queries. I do need to adequately file the papers I’ve gathered on the novel background. Fortunately, most of that is done—filing and research. Keeping it accurately filed is problematic.

18. Read Your Mentors*
I’ve been reading a number of books, not necessarily my favorite authors, but books related to my novel’s historical background. One reading was Enoch Arden by Tennyson, whose story line matches almost exactly the story line of two of my characters (note that my story line is historical, from 1794-1825, and Tennyson wrote Enoch Arden later in the 1800s).

19. Upgrade
Right now I don’t believe that I must upgrade, as the equipment I have is more than sufficient to accomplish my goals. New equipment will not boost my productivity (what will help is to have fewer “life happenings”). However, a power point projector will help immensely when I begin presenting programs on my novel…however, that is far in the future.

20. Go Pro* **
Go Pro??? I’m a semi-professional, a paraprofessional, in almost every field I’ve been involved with: human services, photography, and writing.
In my writing I seek professionalism by reaching out to those ahead of me and assisting those following me. Since my major writing is steeped in history (a university history professor declared me to be an Independent Historian) I’ve consulted historians, genealogists, local historical societies, many original documents, and persons knowledgeable in the areas which I find myself writing about. In the process I’ve been treated as a professional. Perhaps when my novel is in its tenth revision I will explore professional writing societies.

21. Market Yourself* **
Unfortunately, I’ve done too much of that already. I may have lost many of my contacts due to the time lapse. However, I continue to pre-advertise, to lay out my platform, to promote name recognition through my blogs (CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS, INTERTWINED LOVE, and my newspaper blog), at meetings, and where I happen to be. After all, my novel is about a strong woman who has never been written about before. Who isn’t interested in the intrigue of such a woman who deals with land speculators, including Revolutionary War heroes?

22. Learn Photography* **
A picture can add a new dimension to your writing and a new digit to your paycheck.***
As I noted photography is a field where I’m considered a paraprofessional. Once I was sent home by someone because I was not completely dressed: I didn’t have my camera hanging around my neck. I strongly agree with a writer becoming a somewhat competent photographer. After all, who knows your story best and thus can illustrate it best?

23. Get Local **
Investigate local and regional magazines, weekly newspapers, and other markets that would love to feature a hometown writer.
I will pass on this resolution—again, I’m not writing articles for publication at this time. However, when the novel is finished I will submit articles all over the place, local to me and local to the novel sites (many far away).

24. Take a Break* **
This is important to me. Too concentrated a life in writing seems to make my writing poorer. I do attempt to schedule downtime to relax and prevent writing burnout that can take a hefty toll*** on my end product.

25. Mark Your Territory*
Designate your writing space, whether it is a home office, a computer armoire, or a favorite coffee shop table, and use that space for work alone.
Somehow, for me, this doesn’t work. I do best if I vary my writing spaces. Perhaps it allows me to feel a part of the outside world, and not such an isolated writer.

26. Be Narcissistic* **
Post clips of your most prestigious articles on the walls of your office, the refrigerator, or anywhere they can offer inspiration and remind you that you can succeed.
I don’t do that. However, I do keep notebooks of my past articles, and pass out business cards religiously. Also, I find speaking out about my novel and the strong woman character is a great asset in new situations where I refuse to be a shrinking violet

27. Network* **
Cultivate your friends and family members for their expertise and attend local events featuring experts who can be valuable resources for your writing.
This is a strong point in my writing of my novel (and other items). I have no fear of approaching those who know more than I do. Currently I’m preparing a chapter on Frenchmen traveling Braddock Road, and I am sending it for review by experts on the topic.

28. Time Yourself
Write for longer periods each day and find uninterrupted time when you can be most productive.***
If I’m writing on my schedule, I try more to eliminate writing all day. I aim to write a set amount of hours and then stop so my writing doesn’t become burnout. I truly don’t feel adding writing time will benefit my end result.

29. Be a Writer* **
When asked what you do for a living, be honest and say you’re a writer. Get writing business cards and be proud of your career.***
After years of being a freelance journalist I have no problem telling people I’m a writer and taking advantage of the opportunity to hand out my business card. Often I say I was a medical lab tech, a craftsperson, and a human service worker in abuse and in adoption in previous lives, but in this life I am a writer. And yes, I’m as proud of this career as I was of my other careers.

30. Thank an Editor* **
This I’ve done, notably with my newspaper editors for the Fay-West magazine of the Tribune-Review—even to writing a post of appreciation on CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS.

31. Enjoy Writing* **
If you enjoy it, you’ll do it more and do it better, and that is the best way to be more productive and profitable.
Ah, yes, I do enjoy writing…

And the thirty-second flavor—

32. Break Some Rules.

I attempted to participate in National Novel Writing Month:(NaNoWriMo) twice. It is scheduled in November each year. The first year I somehow deleted my file after three days. The second year, 2012, I made it through a week and a half.

nanowrimoI knew everyone was correct—November is almost the worst month to participate in this program.
I postponed the National Novel Writing Month (held in November). I decided to delay my participation until the quiet winter months of early 2013. Thus, I will follow the NaNoWriMo guidelines between February 15 and March 15. My resolution, then, is to write a very rough draft of the last part of my novel (which could be a stand-alone story) during the scheduled time.

There it is, a review of 31 writing resolutions with my comments. Don’t forget to review your writing resolutions and make a comment in the comment box at the end of this post.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Enoch Arden and Louis des Isles: Story Plots
THE LEGACY FROM MY EDITORS
Two Photographers Named Cornell
Writers Die With Pen In Hand…
www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com
pad2013

SOURCES
***Thirty-One Writing-Related Resolutions, Melissa Mayntz, Writers Weekly, December 31, 2008

DAILY PROMPT: 32 FLAVORS, michelle w., January 10, 2013

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

