CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

August 9, 2012

The Story of Our Piano


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

THE STORY OF OUR PIANO

There’s a piano sitting in my living room. It needs tuning. Benny, who lives in Amman, Jordan, is the only piano tuner I trust!

The piano was purchased while our family lived in New Castle. I’d set aside $800-$1,000 to purchase a piano that could move with us as we relocated. I’d been searching for several months when I found an advertisement for a spinet piano, $150.

I immediately responded to the ad, and drove over to the seller’s property.

“It’s a nice piano. Are you certain you want to sell it for $150?” It was way underpriced considering what I’d already seen in my search. It seemed unfair to take that great an advantage of her. Perhaps she didn’t know the value of nice used spinet pianos. Usually when you purchase an item from someone just wanting to clear stuff out of their house, through a newspaper advertisement or at a yard or estate sale, you expect to barter the price down.

She told me that no one in her family played the piano. She’d inherited it from a recently deceased relative. She just wanted to get rid of it.

I high-tailed it home, arranged for a truck and several hefty men, and returned to retrieve my purchase before she changed her mind. We paid them $25.

Now I had a problem—how to get it tuned. I used a professional tuner recommended by a member of the church where Monte was pastor. His $50 fee brought the total cost for a working piano to $225.

The piano moved with us three times. I’ve had many hours of enjoyment playing “at” the instrument (although those listening to my unskilled attempts would have a different opinion).

I still attempt to play it. My grandsons and granddaughter have also approached it.

And it desperately needs tuning.

Be sure to return to CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS  about the Holland family friend who was honored August 11, 2012, for his 70 years of playing the organ in his church. Benny lives in Ammon, Jordan. To read the post click on: https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/honoring-bennys-70-years-as-a-church-organist-2/

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Hands Across America: 25th Anniversary: https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/hands-across-america-25th-anniversary/

I’ll Play the Violin ‘Til the Day I die: https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2010/01/19/ill-play-the-violin-til-the-day-i-die/

Flax scutching in Pennsylvania & Europe

My Neighbor Elinor, AKA Pet

QUECREEK MINE DISASTER: A 21st Century Historical Site in Somerset County, PA

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

