CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

July 17, 2012

The Humming Bird Said: I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

THE HUMMING BIRD SAID: I’VE FALLEN AND I CAN’T GET UP

Co-written With Monte W. Holland

My husband Monte and I sit on our patio on summer mornings, enjoying coffee, breakfast, the newspaper—and the birds. The other day Monte was impressed to see a red-breasted hummingbird at the red-liquid filled bird feeder. We know they are there when we hear the hum from their rapidly beating wings.

Tennesseean Gary Dowdy and his wife also enjoy watching humming birds at their bird feeders, watching them flutter and circle, feed on the nectar, and chase each other. We marvel at their beauty, their tiny wings, and their ability to hover in midair, Dowdy said, leading into the following story he shared on the Upperroom online devotion site1:

One day after I heard a thud against the patio door, I saw a hummingbird on the ground. I picked it up and discovered that the small creature was stunned but still alive. For the next 15 minutes I held the little hummingbird in the palm of my hand. I stroked its feathers and talked gently to it until it regained its ability to fly. When I told my wife of my experience, she said it was like having the power of God in my hands.1

Monte decided to respond to Dowdy’s experience by turning the story around:

Thanks Gary for a great devotional. I want to speak for the hummingbird, from the hummingbird’s perspective:

What just happened? I was flying—what did I hit? I feel so discombobulated. My wings don’t want to work. There is so much to do.

What is that strange warmth under me? There are noises that seem comforting. Somehow the warmth and the soothing tones make me feel as though things are going to be okay. My strength is coming back. I feel free to go as soon as I am able.
I am flying again. The vastness of space is mine again. Those sweet waters are within my reach again. What just happened? I have no idea, but whatever it was, it brought me from the brink of death to renewed life. I kept hearing the word God. I wonder what that meant. Did this God hold me and bring me back to life? I need to remember this God and keep thanking him. I hope he will be there the next time I am struck down.

Monte was pleased that several readers actually commented on his post. Jackie from San Antonio, Texas loved the hummingbirds point of view. Hadn’t thought about it from his prospective.  Another reader thanked him for taking the perspective of the hummingbird. You post was so special and as I read it, I could vividly recall many times when God was holding me in the palm of his hand, gently whispering to me, calming all of my fears. Your post was so uplifting, thank you. David from Henrico, Virginia wrote Monte, loved your post. :>).

As I watched a hummingbird feed at one of the large pink lily plants (one of several potted lilies that decorated the church at our daughter’s wedding) I thought of Monte’s creativity, and of his pleasure in people’s response to that creativity. And I was reminded that comments to people’s posts can be very uplifting.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

FERAL BIRDS: THE LATEST COMMUNITY HAZARD

Battling squirrels at bird feeders I: to fight or join them

The Cat with the Calico Tail

The “Meow” Chorus: A cat symphony on a Greyhound Bus

THE SNITTY CAT LIKES PUMPKIN PIE?

WHAT RIGHTS DO CATS HAVE, I ASK

SOURCE

1http://devotional.upperroom.org/devotionals/2012-07-15

PHOTO CREDITS: http://www.copyright-free-images.com/fauna-animals-copyright-free-images/birds-copyright-free-images/hummingbirds-free-images/hummingbirds-flowers-flying.jpg.html  AND http://www.copyright-free-images.com/fauna-animals-copyright-free-images/birds-copyright-free-images/hummingbirds-free-images/allens-hummingbird.jpg.html

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

