CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

March 11, 2012

Two Haikus: Cardiac Ultrasound Inspired


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

TWO HAIKUS: CARDIAC ULTRASOUND INSPIRED

     While my brother in law was in the hospital he underwent a cardiac ultrasound. I was allowed to be with him during the test. While watching the monitor screen I decided I would attempt to write a haiku poem (I had been reading haikus written by Jan, a member of the Beanery Writers Group in Latrobe, Pennsylvania—which I facilitate).

     Thanks to Jan, I have the following instructions on writing haikus:

3 Lines – non-rhyming

 17 syllables – I like 5-7-5

No title – no punctuation

Mostly seasons

No past tense

Only present tense*

Captures a moment in time

An epiphany

A metaphor

Not a simile = no like or as

NOT SURE ABOUT THE ONLY PRESENT TENSE RULE………

      Below are the two results of my efforts:

Swish, swush, gurgle, swish,

Heart beats, pushes blood forward

Babbling brook, swish, swush

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Red, blue, orange, yellow

Flickering, jumping onscreen

Flames shoot heavenward

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Leap Year Day: Dealing With Life & Death Issues

Which Lou Loses?

Writing Poetry with My Grandson, Vince

My Mother’s Special 90th Birthday Gift

Societal Dilemmas Posed by a Fire and a Dog: https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/societal-dilemmas-posed-by-a-fire-and-a-dog/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

