CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

February 9, 2012

Do I Truly Want the Winter Cold & Snow?


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

DO I TRULY WANT THE WINTER COLD & SNOW?

     This week Kathleen, who lives in a Buffalo, New York, suburb, called.

     “It’s like spring here,” she said. “It snows a little, then it clears. It’s really one freaky winter. It’s 45 degrees today. I hope it doesn’t throw off the sequence of nature.

     “We’re used to frigid single digit weather in February, when a warm day is 30 degrees. “

Feb. 2011 snow is backdrop for hungry squirrel

     I, too, have enjoyed the wonderful January into February weather, the 45 degree days. But it has also frustrated me in that it encouraged me to clean my garage rather than hibernating in the house writing. True, I’ve accomplished a lot, both in the garage and sorting through boxes moved into the house from my daughter’s attic (stored there when we moved ten years ago). I now actually have the cups that go with my teacup saucers. I’ve also fed an abundant meal to the paper recycling bins in Ligonier.

     However, January usually offers frigid/snow-filled weather that allows hibernation, a time to regroup and rest from the holidays. January 15th is my scheduled writing date.

     And not much writing has been accomplished this year, 2012.

     In consolation, I read about weather in other locations, like the northwestern part of the United States:

A winter storm blasted the Pacific Northwest Wednesday, dumping near-record snow in some areas, hammering parts of Oregon with winds as high as 110 mph and bringing much of the region to a standstill. From the Washington state capital in Olympia to the Oregon coast, schools were closed, roads were clogged with snow and hundreds of accidents and dozens of flights were cancelled.

     The above was published on January 18, my son’s birthday. He lives in Cleveland Heights, and we were debating whether we should travel there on the weekend to celebrate his very special day. Inclement weather was predicted.

     My husband Monte and I managed to travel around the weather, arriving on Friday and leaving on Sunday. We went to the grandson’s soccer practice and games in a snowstorm Friday night. That’s been the most precipitation at one time I’ve experienced this winter.

     My daughter and her husband, however, had to travel on Saturday. Wouldn’t you know, they were delayed in leaving due to icy conditions.

     And I read about the weather in Europe:

     More deaths have been reported from the cold snap across Europe, which has already claimed more than 200 lives.

Ukraine continues to be hardest hit, with another nine deaths overnight. Officials say 131 have now died, most of them homeless people, and 1,800 people have been taken to hospital…

At least four have died in France since the Arctic spell began and 43 departments in France have been put on alert for “exceptional” weather conditions.

The Italian capital Rome has seen its heaviest snowfall in more than 25 years, with runs on essential goods at supermarkets reported.

“The snow is beautiful, but let’s hope spring comes soon,” Pope Benedict XVI told the small number of pilgrims who braved the cold to go to St Peter’s Square…

The Netherlands marked temperatures of -21.8C in the town of Lelystad on Saturday, the lowest recorded in the country for 27 years.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     Although I miss my rest and recuperation time, my writing time, I don’t know if I would prefer the Seattle or European weather. And I think back to the winter of 2011 (here,  picture is worth a thousand words):

 

Snow seen out my kitchen window, Jan. 2011

     Nor would I prefer the Ligonier Valley (PA) weather reported in 1912:

(It’s) been a month of terrific wintry weather reminding one somewhat of Peary’s description of the snow storms and cold of the Arctic regions. We have been having storms and snows, cold wave following cold wave and below zero temperatures right along for about two weeks with no apparent prospects of cessation. It is certainly an old-fashioned winter of the times of our fathers and grandfathers. The lowest point of temperature was reached last Saturday morning early when all former records were broken. The thermometer registered in eastern part of town from 32 to 36 degrees below zero, at the Ligonier Valley Rail Road station and vicinity 40 degrees below zero, at ice pond of J. C. Myers 40 below, at Bell’s station ice pond 39 below and at Darlington station 40 below.    

     And I hope we don’t have to look forward to the following: could do without the following:

Someone commented that “1961 will go down as the year without a spring” and he was just about right. Up to this week there have been mighty few days that might be called balmy.   

     With all the reports of cold, snow-filled winter weather elsewhere in the world, and in past history, I am happy to be able to throw on a jacket, grab my camera, and take a brisk walk through my community. When the warm weather comes, I will sit on my patio, watching the birds and writing on my laptop.

     The writing will get done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Smiles Wanted! https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/smiles-wanted/

Warning: Do Not “Smile Someone” Today!

‘Find the Herb & Spice’ Quiz

Shooting Snapshots: Terroristic Activity? https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/shooting-snapshots-terroristic-activity/

Is Your Table Big Enough? If not, add a leaf…  https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/is-your-table-big-enough-if-not-add-a-leaf/

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

SOURCES

http://www.usatoday.com/weather/storms/winter/story/2012-01-18/northwest-snow/52631204/1

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-16897068

Ligonier Echo, January 12, 2012

Ligonier Echo, June 2, 2011

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

