CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

January 1, 2012

Planning for the New Year: 2012


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

PLANNING FOR THE NEW YEAR: 2012

Oops…I goofed…I’m among the many persons who are still typing 2011 instead of 2012…

     Planning for the future…The time to plan for your future is now…

     The title of the article—actually, an advertisement—drew me in: Plan for the future. I’ve always tried to work on a long-term, intermediate-term and short-term plan on whatever projects I’m working on and in whatever stage I am in my life.

     I’ve moved through my childhood stage, early adult life stage, parenting stage, midlife stage and am currently in my late life stage.

     Each stage had its activities. For me

  • early life was learning the ways of the world,
  • young adult life was preparing for a work future,
  • early adult was marriage, children, working for an adoption agency while operating a child care home,
  • intermediate adult life starting a three-year craft business and raising two teenagers while moving into domestic violence work,
  • later life was working with domestic violence issues, and
  • my current life is founded on writing.

     My three-stage plan can be demonstrated by using my novel writing plan:

  • Short term goal: write a chapter or a certain number of words in a short time
  • Intermediate goal: complete the first segment of the novel
  • Long term goal:  complete the final edits on the novel and plan a trip to New England, doing programs for historic and other groups based on the novel

     I have my writing plan down pat (except for its execution, which requires self-discipline). It pretty well fits the question at the beginning of the article: What would you like to be doing in 5, 10, or 20 years from now?

     Oops…did that say 20 years from now? My plan must be a little tighter than that…three months, three months more, and an additional three months. It has to be that way since I am reality-oriented. If I look at 5, 10 or 20 years I become overwhelmed, wondering if I will even be living that long. I’ve already surpassed my grandmother’s age of demise, 60, and am moving rapidly to my mother’s age: 75. That doesn’t give me much time. My plan must be crunched into shorter time spans.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

East Lamoine, Maine: The setting for the second part of my novel...

      And so I begin the second year with the same primary resolution: complete the novel! Last year I was off and running. But life has a way of interfering, even interrupting. Life slung a curve (or two) at me, and in mid-January my major goal changed.

     In 2012 I will begin in earnest work on the novel. Prior to that time I will complete some of 2011’s unfinished threads.

     I look to my family, friends, my writing colleagues, and you, the readers of Carolyn’s Compositions, to keep me focused and to encourage me.

     May you set one primary goal for 2012 that you can focus on and look back on the year with pride that the goal was accomplished.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Pittsburgh Magazine  November 2010, pp41

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

January Catalogues Lead to June Gardens

The fickleness of life and weather

It’s January: Am I Stressed Out?

Only Space Aliens Look Forward to Winter

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 2

2 Comments »

  1. I (was) am- in my life

    Thank You…Carolyn –for being optimistic !!!!!!!!!!

    Joan

    Comment by Joan — January 3, 2012 @ 9:34 pm | Reply

    • Thanks, Joan, for the comment and especially for the two corrections. Enjoy the cold weather!
      Carolyn

      Comment by carolyncholland — January 3, 2012 @ 10:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

