CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

April 3, 2011

Ocean Views: The New England Coast


 CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

OCEAN VIEWS

THE NEW ENGLAND COAST

Photography

 

     There is nothing more soothing than sitting on the rocks at Wallis Sands Beach in Rye, New Hampshire, and watching the waves roll in. These are the same rocks from which my grandmother, May Isabelle (Mable) Briskay, supervised my sister and I as we played on the beach, caught crabs from pools of saltwater, climbed the rocks, and challenged the waves.

     Last week the subject presented by the WordPress weekly photo challenge was ocean. Granted, I cannot get to the ocean to meet the challenge. However, my photo archives are filled with pictures I’ve taken on my visits to the New England coast—where I was born and spent half of my childhood. The camera is a tool by which I save the images of waves rolling in and crashing before the water reverses direction and returns to the sea.

     I posted three photos on www.carolyncholland2011.wordpress.com (Weekly Photo Challenge: Ocean), where I am meeting the challenge to do a post every day. Below are additional photos.

A wave surrounds Googin's Rocks at Old Orchard Beach, Maine

 

A New Hampshire Beach scene

 

Surfers at Hampton Beach, New Hampshire: Sept. 2003

 

Rolling, crashing "barrel" wave along the New Hampshire coast

~~~~~~~~~~~~
ADDITIONAL READING:

POPHAM BEACH, MAINE

LOBSTER-TALES

OBITUARY FOR BLUE BUOY (A Blue Lobster)

Googins Island, Maine: An Osprey Sanctuary

Weekly Photo Challenge: Ocean

Scroll through the articles In the New England category:

https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/category/new-england/

1 Comment »

  1. Wallis Sands where my grandmother used to watch ME! If my soul needs refreshing it is where I return to soak up the heart beat of tide and wave. If I really need an overhaul it is out on Star Island I think that is one of the most beautiful and inspiring places. My cousin still lives there at Wallis Sands, my Dad spent summers there and the rest of the year in Manchester or Goffstown. Small world connected by oceans that travel beach to beach.

    Comment by Carolyn Stearns — April 4, 2011 @ 12:42 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

