CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

March 22, 2011

Lenten Study: 7 Deadly Sins—Gluttony #2: Eternal Riches


CAROLYN’C COMPOSITIONS

LENTEN STUDY: 7 DEADLY SINS

GLUTTONY #2: ETERNAL RICHES

MONTE W. HOLLAND

INTRODUCTION

     The following study is a journey through Lent, the forty-day pre-Easter season (which excludes Sundays).  Easter’s date, determined by the time of the first full moon after the Spring equinox, is very late this year.

     Traditionally, many Christians use Lent for self-examination and a renewal of their commitment to their faith.

     This year I  chose to do a devotional study on aspects of the Seven Deadly Sins, sins identified by very early Christians as key behaviors separating man from God and God’s will. The seven sins are not listed together in the Bible—each is, however, spoken about in various Scripture sites.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

THE SEVEN DEADLY SINS:

GREED, ENVY, ANGER, LUST, GLUTTONY, SLOTH and PRIDE.

THE ASPECTS OF THE SEVEN DEADLY SINS ARE:

#1 Breaking the Mosaic Law

#2 Defying God or rebelling against God

#3 Acts of violence to others

#4 Failing to make proper sacrifices or worship

#5 Not living up to or reflecting God’s glory (not living as one created in God’s image)

GLUTTONY #2:

ETERNAL RICHES

SCRIPTURE:  27 Peter replied, “Remember, we have left everything to be your followers! What will we get?” 28 Jesus answered: Yes, all of you have become my followers. And so in the future world, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne, I promise you will sit on twelve thrones to judge the twelve tribes of Israel. 29 All who have given up home or brothers and sisters or father and mother or children or land for me will be given 100 times as much. They will also have eternal life. (Matthew 19:27-30  (CEV))

 DEVOTION: Temperance is the opposite of gluttony. Temperance accepts the natural limits of pleasures and preserves this natural balance. This not only pertains to food, but to entertainment and other legitimate goods—even the company of others.

     Gluttony and greed become intertwined as many of us try to accumulate more and consume more. The richer we get, the more we can consume. Temperance is a good first step, and an appropriate step, to combat gluttony.

     How close am I to the border between greed/gluttony and generosity/ temperance? If I am really honest, I’ve crossed over most of the time. Generosity takes real concentration and effort. Greed is almost second nature.

     Temperance only happens when I put the intentional halt on binge eating, binge buying, or excessive participation in sports, etc. Gluttony on the other hand is almost second nature.

     I enjoy sports, and I have lots of time, in my retirement, to watch them on television. My wife would say that I over-consume these shows (she may be biased as a non-sports fan).

     I looked at the store racks full of Steelers shirts after they won the AFC Championship. The sales were brisk. How many of the purchasers needed one of those expensive shirts to keep warm? Virtually none! Do I need the team gear that I have to keep warm? No. On the other hand, I sense some value in being part of the community of area sports followers.

     Jesus puts us in an entirely different “ball game.”  We’ve been talking about keeping from crossing the line from temperance to gluttony. Our scripture talks of giving up everything in this world for eternal treasures that have many times more value. I’m not ready for that.

     Does that mean I’m not ready for eternal life? I hope not. At the very least, I need to be moving out of the glutton field into the temperance field, to keep looking toward the ideal that Jesus offers, and to never look back.

 PRAYER: Gracious God, I need your help with this matter of gluttony. I don’t expect to meet the standard the disciples offered to Jesus. Yet, I anticipate with your help to draw closer to putting my value in growing eternal riches and preparing for eternal life. Amen.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~

To read the previous devotion, click on: Lenten Study: 7 Deadly Sins—Lust #2: Jesus First

To read the following devotion, click on: Lenten Study: 7 Deadly Sins—Sloth #2: God’s Way or My Way?

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

ADDITIONAL READING:

Returning to life in the past lane

Navy Yard Broadcast from Pearl Harbor: Part 4

Memorable Job Interviews

You Don’t Know What a Fluffer-Nutter Is?

Nissan’s March 2011 Sale Ads Are Insensitive

Voyeurism as a Writing Tool

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

