CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

February 14, 2011

Valentine’s Day: Bah, Humbug


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

VALENTINE’S DAY: BAH, HUMBUG!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ALSO READ:

Valentine’s Day Photos & Quotes

NOTICE:

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS moved to

Carolyn’s Online Magazine (COMe) in January 2015.

I invite you to visit the new site and encourage you to Follow it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

SCENE: Victoria and Losen are conversing in the grocery store in the aisle where greeting cards are sold.

Victoria: Hello, Losen! Nice to see you out on this nice day. The winter’s been so cold and snowy I haven’t been out much. Oh, are you looking for a Valentine card? I’m looking for just the right one for a neighbor whose husband just died.

Losen: Ugh! Valentine’s Day is here. What hogwash.

Victoria: Er. What caused this outburst? I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day…why, as a child we made Valentine boxes…

Losen: Yeah, I remember those boxes…everyone else’s was decorated better than mine was.

Victoria: I always enjoyed the Valentine’s we exchanged.

Losen: You must have had your box filled with cards. While everyone else gushed over their full box, mine was virtually empty.

Victoria: That’s too bad. Nowadays, each student must give a Valentine to everyone, so that doesn’t happen.

Losen: Yeah, they’d be forced to give me a Valentine. What would the cards mean? And the kids get around that rule. Today I’d receive all mean Valentines, and would have to watch the other kids open their fancy schmancy cards. Even back then, Valentines were about love. And nobody ever loved me. Even today, who sends me a Valentine?

Victoria: You never…

Losen: Who cares about me?

Victoria: You never receive a Valentine? Oh, my. No wonder…

Losen: All Valentine’s Day is is a commercial venture by the card companies and the florists. It’s just like Christmas…who can sell the most, who can make the most bucks!

Victoria: …my, you are cynical.

Losen: If you ask me, they should do away with the holiday. Holiday. Holy-day. Don’t you know that the basis of the day is a religious figure, St. Valentine?

Victoria: Isn’t his story great?

Losen: Great? It’s a religious holiday, just like Christmas. I agree with those people who want to ban the religious aspect of Christmas from the schools…

Victoria: Oh, it’s all about reindeer, elves and Santa…

Losen: … because it’s a religious holiday.

Victoria: They aren’t even allowed to sing Silent Night in most schools today.

Losen: And well it should be. Up on the housetop…Bah, humbug! And they should chase St. Valentine out of the schools, too! And while they are at it, they should get rid of St. Patrick! School children should not be exposed to these religious figures! After all, they have nothing to do with their education! All this school stuff violates the separation of church and state!

Victoria: Ooh, you have it bad…Don’t you realize how much money is raised towards curing heart disease through Valentine’s Day activities? Or how children gain writing skills?

Losen: What, through writing variations on Roses are red, Violets are blue?

Victoria: And the focus on love…especially Valentine’s Day…

Losen: Yeah, so who ever loved me? If anyone does send me flowers, they’ll be black roses.

Victoria: So what are you doing to make yourself lovable?

Losen: I should be loved just because I am.

Victoria: That’s perfect love, the love of Christmas, St. Valentine and St. Patrick. It just doesn’t seem to work that way in the real world. You seem to be focusing on yourself. Perhaps you need to consider someone else, someone who needs love as much as you do. Have you tried visiting an isolated, lonely, older person? Do you focus on the other person when you converse with them, or do you whine about your misery? Have you reached out to that lonely child two doors down from you, the one whose parents need to work overtime just to pay the bills? Have you taken a meal to a sick or grieving person?

Losen: They’d probably throw it away if I did…

Victoria: Gently reaching out to another person shows love, and love multiplies…it’ll come back to you a hundredfold.

Losen: Bah humbug! I’ll just sit in my living room playing with my dog on February 14. I’ll watch a non-romantic video, since all the movies and entertainment on that day will be about love. I don’t need that rubbish!

Victoria: Oh, my…I guess you are determined to be unloved. Not me. I’ll send Valentines to my family and friends, and perhaps, for my grieving neighbors, I’ll take them a chocolate heart. Oh, this is a perfect card for my neighbor.

Losen: It’s too gooey for my taste.

Victoria:  And I’ll even send you a Valentine.

Losen: Don’t bother…

With that, Losen turned on his heel and firmly walked away from Victoria, who wondered how he had become so cynical. She turned to the card racks to find a card for him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

https://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/category/cochrans-shenanigans/

Preparing for a First Date with Carmena

To Andrea Bocelli: A Valentine

Valentine’s Day

ROSES ARE RED: Two Original Versions

CANDIED VIOLETS: Remembering My Mother on Her Birthday

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

by the e-mail after you receive

a confirmation request

from wordpress.com )

2 Comments »

  1. “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

    In case you have forgotten,
    Remember Valentine’s Day,
    Give cards, candy or flowers,
    And celebrate it every day!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Comment by PuzzlingChristian — February 14, 2011 @ 6:44 pm | Reply

  2. […] me a Valentine. What would the cards mean? And the kids get around that rule. Today I’d receive (continue reading […]

    Pingback by Valentine’s Day: Bah, Humbug! | Carolyn's Online Magazine — February 7, 2016 @ 8:32 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

