CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

November 4, 2010

David, Our German Exchange Student: Part 3


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

DAVID: OUR GERMAN EXCHANGE STUDENT Part 3

To read David, Our German Exchange Student Part 1, click on David, Our German Exchange Student: Part 1.

      He didn’t like Alex, the exchange program coordinator, and he didn’t feel he could respect the rules.

     “I can do what I want,” he said.

     Back at our house, he demonstrated some skate board moves, showed me a skate board magazine and showed me his paint ball gun.

     “I’m against war, but paintball is a game,” he said.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

     One of the rules was that David had to do his own laundry. After all, my kids had done theirs since age 13 (albeit by their choice). He seemed surprised at this.

     “I didn’t do theirs, and I’m not doing yours,” I stated.

     On Thursday, David said he was ready to do his laundry.

     “I’ve never done it before,” he said, using his magnetic smile, I am sure, to convince me I should do his for him.

     I couldn’t be cajoled into doing it for him, but I would teach him.

     “I hate you but my mother will love you.”

     I showed him how to sort his clothes into colors and whites, then how to run the washer and dryer. He kept saying “I’m the man” as he conquered each step.

     Next he really tried to cajole me into doing his ironing.

     “No,” I said, showing him how to release the ironing board from the wall, and how to use the iron.

     He repeated, strongly, his favorite term: “I’m the man,” as he successfully ironed two long sleeved white shirts, a pair of pants that needed the crease improved, and a couple of t-shirts. Even so, he continued to act like he was being put upon as he did it.

     “Ironing is very tiring,” he commented.

     “It’s easier if you stand up.”

     That night he ate supper with us, since Rene was not cooking. We had biscuits with creamed chicken.

     David asked about getting his driver’s license.

     “I want to get it here because it costs a thousand dollars in Germany, compared to $29 here.”

     I told him he would have to have commitments from people to take him out in their cars for practice.

     “I didn’t do it with my kids, and I won’t do it for you,” I said.

     “Rene said Tom would do it, but he is not enthusiastic.”

     Thus ended the first week of hosting David, our German exchange student.

 To read David, Our German Exchange Student Part 4, click on David, Our German Exchange Student: Part 4.

~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

SUBSCRIBE!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

David, Our German Exchange Student: Part 3

Stockings for Jesus

Mad Hatters, Johnny Depp, and Alice in Wonderland

USING A NEW CAMERA WHILE TRAVELING

IN NEW ENGLAND, HISTORY CONFLICTS WITH PROGRESS

SNAPSHOT ENCOUNTERS: Brief Meetings With People #2

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

