CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

November 1, 2010

Election Integrity: Where is It?


CAROLYN’S CREATIONS

ELECTION  INTEGRITY: WHERE IS IT?

     Integrity.

     What we need in America is elected people who say what they mean and do what they say.

     More common is the opposite—candidates who say what they must to succeed in the election, but who do not or cannot deliver on their promises.

     My first political interest occurred in the fall of 1963. Previous to that time, while surviving a negative home situation, I concentrated on my education in the medical field. It was my route to a better life.

     That fall I was on my way, a medical laboratory technician working in the pathology lab at Doctor’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. It was time for me to become involved in my community.

     I listened to the candidates for election. One, especially, I liked. He assured his electorate that he would accomplish something (after this many years, I forget the details). After he was elected, he immediately did the opposite of what he said.

     And I was disillusioned.

     Lately, I find myself not voting for a candidate, but against that person’s opponent. Integrity is not part of the political game.

     I also find myself perplexed about issues so complex that it takes at least a political science graduate school degree to sort them out—and I doubt that doing that would make me knowledgeable enough to sort out the true facts. Ergo, I feel woefully inept and undereducated while participating in the process.

     However, even with the confusion and doubts, I consider not voting a slap to my nation, for whom many lives were sacrificed for my right to vote. It is also a slap in the fact to persons locked into countries where the freedom to vote is lacking, dangerous, or severely compromised.

     Thus, each year finds me at the election booth, making the best choice I can. It is my right and my privilege. I just wish I could do so a little more responsibly, something that would be greatly helped if candidates had more integrity.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

For Josh: In Memory of LCpl. Joshua T. Twigg

ALEXANDRIA, D. C. (Virginia) IN THE 1790s

KEEPING PEACE IN SOUTH AFRICA Part 2

Enoch Arden and Louis des Isles: Story Plots

The French military in America during the American Revolution Part 1

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

TO RECEIVE E-MAIL NOTIFICATION

OF NEW POSTS ON CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

SUBSCRIBE!

(to subscribe see upper right hand post on this site—

Notification will begin after you confirm your subscription

on the e-mail you will receive from wordpress.com )

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

