CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

January 7, 2009

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 2

Filed under: HUMOR — carolyncholland @ 2:00 am

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 2

 
To read Part I click on JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1
Recall that previously I mentioned my eccentricity. Well, I’ve been a hat-wearer for years. My husband tells me he likes this, because he can always find me when I wander away from him in the store. Sometimes friends ask me if the beret I’m wearing is because I’ve been writing about a French woman. All this is leading up to the fact that January 15 is National Hat Day. So why do I wear hats? Because I am lazy.  Or adaptive. My hair—thin and baby fine—is useless as an adornment of beauty. Thus, I wrap it up, hide it under a hat, and no longer have to worry whether it looks nice or not. So on this day make a statement. And remember, that hat will keep your body heat from escaping from your feet upwards out from your brain, a very important consideration when it gets to be five degrees with a wind chill of ten below zero.
Moving through January to the 17th, a favorite day for anyone who makes New Year’s resolutions. It’s the day to relieve yourself of the pressure of fulfilling them, since it is Ditch New Years Resolutions Day.
Writers need to celebrate on the 18th, a favorite day of mine, because on its clear eve, stars twinkling in the winter sky, I began the true labor which brought my son into the world just before noon in 1972. Then, in the evening, the snows began to fly. But I digress. This is Thesaurus Day, in honor of Peter Roget, born in 1779, who compiled synonyms and antonyms into an invaluable reference book.
Some days are sorrowful times. January 21 is such a day, although it should be a day of celebrating love. National Hugging Day is spoiled because we now must be so cautious in offering to give our children hugs. No longer can teachers, preachers, or others express genuine caring or comfort through a hug. This is truly a sad era when a hug is threatened by accusations of child abuse or adult harassment. Hugs that were once celebratory, therapeutic, and made people feel good are prohibited. How dare you hug someone?
When the holidays arrive at our house, no one asks me what kind of pies I am making. They request my husband’s made-from-scratch pumpkin pie. He made a pumpkin pie for each family in one of his congregations, and organized pie making for dinners at other churches. Fortunately I do not like pumpkin pie, or I would balloon after each holiday. However, on January 23, National Pie Day, I might request a homemade apple pie. How more American can that be? This day was created by the American Pie Council, in 1986, in honor of Crisco’s 75th anniversary of “serving foods to families everywhere.”
Oh, how I yearn for a compliment! (Please satisfy this yearning by placing a compliment in the comment box below!), And, having spent my childhood in New Hampshire, I appreciate that it was two women from that state, Kathy Chamberlin and Debby Hoffman, in 1998, created Compliment Day, celebrated on January 24. A friend of mine once said you can always find something nice to compliment someone on, even if it is only that the buttons on their shirt are attractive. Just be wary if someone offers you that compliment!
I assume most of you feel you have to be professional at work—defined as stodgy, boring, dull. January 28th is your day. In preparation for Fun at Work Day, click on this post: WORKPLACE STRESS REDUCTION ACTIVITIES: MORTIFYING AND FUN. Then let loose and have fun today!
The perfect way to end the month is to celebrate Inspire Your Heart with Art Day on January 31. No matter what the art, it can have an effect on your heart.  Currently, for me, it’s writing. However, deadlines can be stressful. Write for fun. Write to share your thoughts with a family member or friend. Paint to satisfy your need to create. Sew. Make pottery. Do it as a hobby, to release stress. Then you will be ready for the month of February.
NOTE: many of the days discussed are listed as National days. However, unless there is an act of Congress, the word “National” is an unofficial designation!

ADDITIONAL READING:

www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1

BODIES

ALL SUMMER IN A DAY: The Use of Descriptive Language

WHAT ARE THOSE NUMBERS IN MY CAMERA VIEWFINDER?

IN SEARCH OF THE ARABELLA: A Story of Two Boats

THE UNICORN: MYTH OR REALITY?

IN WINTERSCAPE…COMES THE SONG

SHE’S A CANDLE

SNOW GLOBE

SHOULD THIS HOUSE HAVE SOLD AT A TAX SALE?

SADIE

IS THIS “CHEERS?”

www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com

RELATED POSTS:

http://www.scopesys.com/year/

http://holidayinsights.com/moreholidays/january.htm 

http://www.historyplace.com/specials/calendar/january.htm

http://www.historymania.com/american_history/January

http://history-world.org/OTDJAN1.htm

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

