CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

January 6, 2009

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1

Filed under: HUMOR — carolyncholland @ 3:42 am

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 1

 
Have you spoken any trivia today?

     If not, you missed the fun of this 4th day of January 2009. Trivia Day. A day to play Trivial Pursuit, a game which always challenges me—and I lose, because I have specific name and date memory deficit. This is a syndrome I invented because, although I can tell you every generality about a person or event, what escapes my mind is the person’s name and the event’s date. I blame this on my mother’s partying, during my prenatal months, at the specific moments that that part of my brain was developing. Mind you, back in the days of World War II, smoking and partying weren’t seen as being dangerous to the fetus. Oh well, whatever the cause, do not engage me in any trivia contest lest you want to humiliate me with your huge win. Anyway, for fun, check out these sites: The World Largest Trivia Page , Useless Knowledge.com and Brain Candy Trivia 

January had other notable days for you to celebrate, just when you thought the holidays were over. Perhaps the National Bird Day (never set aside by Congress, so not truly “national”) will pique your interest. If you are like me and have bird feeders outside the windows that torment your pet cat, then January 5 is your day. I suggest that the older and more infirm you get, the more you learn to enjoy the hobby of identifying the different birds that visit your feeders—the cardinals, blue jays, titmice, wrens etc. While meditating on this issue, and before I inform you as to the true facts surrounding this celebration, you should click on FERAL BIRDS: THE LATEST COMMUNITY HAZARD.  Then you will be prepared to learn that National Bird Day wasn’t established to celebrate these birds. It was created by bird activists in order to enlighten folks about the plight of captive birds and the exploitation of birds in the U.S. pet industry. On this day, organizers suggest we reflect upon the conditions of birds held in captivity.

Of course, birds of the turkey, chicken and goose type, will have cause to celebrate January 6. In fact, they might bow down before all the vegetarians of the world this day, which is Bean Day. Although some persons consider this day as having no rhyme or reason, they just do not understand. Eating beans is a step towards a green society. Thus, it is very important to know your beans. All of them. Taste them. Experiment in a culinary style with them. Try them. You might even like them. It’s time to read your seed catalogues!

Lovers had better both be on the same page when considering a diet of beans. Whoever set up the special days of the years did not do their homework, since January 6 is not only Bean Day, it’s Cuddle Up Day. Using your imagination, can you picture being a meat-eater mated with a vegetarian on Bean Day? Need I say more?

The January 7 specialness was created for those of us who live in the Allegheny Mountains of Pennsylvania, or perhaps along the coast of Downeast Maine. Old Rock Day is no problem for us—old rocks proliferate like weeds. We dig them out of our gardens and lawns only to have those buried deeper rise to the top. Whoever began the pet rock fad didn’t live on ground like this. They must have been like a friend of mine who wanted to fill their car with rocks because their acreage was rock-impoverished.
Many of my “so-called” friends might think that January 10 was created just for me. But I consider that Peculiar People Day was NOT created for this reason. After all, I am not peculiar, I am ECCENTRIC! There is a difference…isn’t there?

Although Step in a Puddle and Splash Your Friends Day, January 11, is described as a day for mischievous fun, my guess is that the designer of this day didn’t live where I do. It’s not fun to stomp on a frozen puddle and end up with a broken, frozen bone. No, this just will not do in the north country where the temperature as I write this is a balmy thirty degrees Fahrenheit. But come join me in a warm bath!

How many of you have a dream? January 13 is your day! (Disclaimer: if it falls on a Friday your luck ran out.) Make Your Dream Come True Day requires you to take just one baby step towards fulfilling a dream. I guess this means I should discipline myself to sit down and write more pages on my historic romance novel so that I can become the world’s next most famous novelist, and a century from now readers will still be clamoring to locate the now-obscure copies so they can enjoy every written word of mine.

But then, after all that work on January 13, I welcome the 14th when I can let loose and reward myself by revisiting my childhood (oops—not revisit, but continue the childhood I never left). Here kitty kitty, its Dress Up Your Pet Day. I have the cutest mint green dress for you, and the booties and hat match it perfectly. They will accent your orange fur so nicely!
To continue reading this post, click on JANUARY DAYS OF CELEBRATION: Part 2 

ADDITIONAL READING:

PINCH HITTING

THE TIME IS NOW…

SHALIMAR

ARE WEBSITES (BLOGSITES) BENEFICIAL TO WRITERS?

YE OLD ’ROUND ’TUIT

WHAT? MARRY A PROSTITUTE, HOSEA ASKED GOD

DARE TO BE A CLOWN: Clown Types

SADIE

COPYRIGHTS GET NO RESPECT!

SHOULD THIS HOUSE HAVE SOLD AT A TAX SALE?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

