CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

June 29, 2008

BRAMBLES (Brief RAMBLES) 1-4 JUNE 1, 2008


BRAMBLES 1-4 includes pieces titled WEATHER IS RELATIVE, YOU’RE TOO OLD TO DO WHAT…?, and LOST DREAMS

WEATHER IS RELATIVE
   In mid-June the temperature was just under forty degrees. As I prepared a hot cup of tea, wrapped up in a cozy robe, and hunted for the book I am reading, I thought back to the time not long ago when forty degrees seemed such a relief from below freezing weather that I was searching for shorts and short sleeved tops to wear while I worked outside in the yard.
   Recently, there was a woman from India at an event at my home. Others were sweltering in the eighty-degree weather, but she was cold, having come from a country with a one hundred degree climate.
   The following is an excerpt on weather relativity from a book by Allis. It compares the weather in Downeast Maine, Boston and the Carolinas during the 1790s.
   “From their vicinity to the sea the (Maine) inhabitants enjoy the benefit of those saline particles which meliorate the air, and make the climate much less acute than it is far inland. Altho the degrees of cold exceed those experienced in Boston, yet from the regularity of the weather, and the fitted state of the body to the situation, the people do not suffer more from the cold than the do about Boston…So that we are not to estimate the evils of cold entirely by the degrees, thereof, but with our ability to bear it. (I, Gen. Benjamin Lincoln, suffered as much from the cold in Carolina as I ever experienced in Mass. The weather is not so cold as the weather farther north, nor (are the people) fitted to bear it.”
   Thus, whether it’s warm or cold, the perception of weather is relative. So offer your visitor from India a sweater in eighty-degree weather and your visitor from Alaska shorts in forty-degree weather. After all, weather is relative.
 
YOU’RE TOO OLD TO DO WHAT…?
   You think you are too old—at 50, 60—to accomplish great things? What about 70? or  80? or even 90?
   In February, 2008, there was a peace conference held in Lake Junaluska, North Carolina. The event featured the Rev. Peter Storey, a renowned peace advocate and former United Methodist bishop of South Africa.
   The Lake Junaluska Peace Conference was begun by a grass roots group of peace advocates headed by 95-year old Rev. Wright Spears, who started dreaming of an annual peace conference to examine why the church is too often silent in a world of violence.
   The group is planning ten more years of conferences and has already begun working on next year’s schedule. 
   What does Rev. Spears have planned for his one-hundredth year?
   And what do you have planned for your 50th, 60th, 70th, 80th, 90th, or 95th year?
   As for me, I relish the perk of being formerly young, the association of wisdom and age.

LOST DREAMS
   Speaking of age, it seems people can begin with one plan and end with something totally different.
   I didn’t start off to be a historical writer, having the titles of “independent historian” and “colleague”—of a college history professor. In fact, the subject I disliked most was history. It was boring.
   I also didn’t start out to be a medical laboratory technician. Or a human service worker. Or a business person. Or a photo-journalist. What I wanted to be, in the whole world of occupations, was a teacher.
   Then I was rejected by the teacher’s college, someplace anyone was expected to be able to get into. I wasn’t savvy enough to explore why. I was just rejected.
   I also did not start off with the desire to birth only one child. Coming from parents who together birthed two children and separately each of my parents birthed at least five more children, infertility was the furthest thing from my mind. In fact, my desire was to be mother to twelve children. (However, I did dream of adopting children. That is how we came by our oldest child.)
   Dreams, especially childhood dreams, seem to get lost or altered by life. Although my childhood dreams did not materialize, I have been able to develop my gifts to, I hope, benefit humanity. And in some alternative ways, my dreams did come true. Through my work as an abuse counselor, I’ve taught numerous classes. I also taught during my ten years as a family childcare provider, developing and presenting preschool programs.
The family childcare and other circumstances also allowed me to act as a surrogate parent to numerous children of all ages.
   The alterations of my dreams has caused me to creatively become who I wanted to be.
I began with certain dreams. And I fulfilled those dreams. For that I am grateful.

For additional reading:

BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION

FLASHY MOON EXPLOSIONS

AN ADOPTION EXPERIENCE

RIVER (Specifically, the Youghiogheny River)

SOCKATORY

KILLED STRANGELY: A NEW ENGLAND MURDER STORY

RUSS’S ASSIGNMENT: WRITE CAROLYN’S EULOGY Lent Devotion

A REVIEW OF RESPONSES TO CAMPBELL’S BEST BUY LAWSUIT: Part 1

A REVIEW OF RESPONSES TO CAMPBELL’S BEST BUY LAWSUIT: Part 2

OBITUARY FOR BLUE BUOY (A Blue Lobster)

IN SEARCH OF THE ARABELLA: A STORY OF TWO BOATS

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

