CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

January 9, 2014

Popovers Made With a Blender


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONSMovicons2-hugsandkisses(3)

Hug for Tim

POPOVERS MADE WITH A BLENDER

I spread softened butter onto the pastry on my plate. As I did so, the butter dribbled over my fingertips. I reached for the orange marmalade and added it to the pastry before picking up the popover and trying to graciously bite into it. The butter and jelly oozed out onto my hands and had I not quickly leaned over my plate it would have dripped onto my white winter sweater.
How, I wondered, does anyone eat one of these delectables in a civilized manner?

th

I learned a sneaky trick when entertaining people who didn’t know each other. I served something worse than spaghetti, an item which I never saw anyone eat without, somehow, staining some of their clothing.

This recipe is messier than spaghetti.

Because it cannot be eaten politely—it drips and goos with hot butter and other fillingS—it “breaks the ice” among persons just becoming acquainted.

What better way to break the ice and form new relationships than laughter, laughter over seeing others and yourself trying to do the impossible—eating cleanly.

I haven’t used the following recipe for quite a while. Actually, I thought it was in a different book but discovered it was in a book titled Electric Blender Recipes by Mabel Stegner. My copy is pretty messed up, so if I don’t want to lose this recipe it’s a good idea to post it.

A suggestion: if you decide to serve popovers provide your guests with an adult (spaghetti or lobster) bib, which they will refuse to wear until they soil their clothes. Then they will acquiesce to either stained clothing or the bib.

From Electric Blender Recipes (pg. 71):

Popovers add charm to any meal and they always impress guests. They are really very easy to make, particularly when you have an electric blender. Follow these simple directions for puffy light popovers.

POPOVERS

th

7/8 cup milk, or 7/8 cup water plus ¼ cup non-fat dry milk solids
2 eggs
1 tablespoon soft fat
1 cup sifted flour
¼ teaspoon salt

Place all ingredients in glass container of electric blender in order indicated. Cover container and turn on blender. Run until ingredients are thoroughly blended, about 20 seconds. Pour into greased or ungreast cast-aluminum or cast-iron muffin pans or custard cups, filling not more than half full. If custard cups are used place them on a shallow baking pan to place in oven.
Bake in hot oven, 425 degrees F., until puffed and brown, about 35 to 45 minutes.
Pierce side of each popover with sharp knife to allow steam to escape, and serve immediately with butter and jam or marmalade.
Makes 8 large popovers.

NOTE: I recall offering honey instead of jam or marmalade.

Enjoy. Be messy. Let your inhibitions go.

While seeking a photo of popovers online I discovered one of my favorite towns, my hometown, Portsmouth, New Hampshire, has a café named Popovers on the Square

http://popoversonthesquare.com/photos/gallery/custom-cake-gallery/

ms

During our brief walk through downtown Portsmouth last September I regret I didn’t notice this particular shop. However, I copied several reviews

http://www.yelp.com/biz/popovers-on-the-square-portsmouth?start=40

from online:

• 8/11/2010
I was visiting Portsmouth for the vist time. Aimee D. tells me “You must go to Popovers.”

Right there, in the center of town, on the corner, I see an unassuming bakery/cafe. And inside? The BEST Popovers I have ever had served with a sweet delicious maple butter.

Now, I stop in everytime I go to Portsmouth.
• 10/12/2009
I absolutely HAVE to come here if I’m anywhere near Portsmouth. The popovers are huge and taste amazing (especially smothered in the sweet sweet maple butter) I’m getting hungry just thinking about it!

They have a great assortments of treats and great coffee/lattes…but really I just come for the popovers. best damn things EVER!

• 10/31/2007
Yummy, yummy chai and popovers with maple butter. The deliciousness, free wifi and soothing tunes have caused me to be a fixture here everyday this week. I would be there right now, if only.

I have also enjoyed a breakfast sandwich (incredible how something so simple can be so tasty) and their biscotti – chocolate chip walnut was goood.

Also, the people who work there have always been super friendly.

I ordered a bowl of hot clam chowder last week, and it only adds to my love of this place. So delicious, and it comes with a mini popover.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
ADDITIONAL READING:

Additional recipes on CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

Free Hugs & Gold Lions in Portsmouth, N. H.

Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire

PHOTO SOURCE:

http://www.yelp.com/biz_photos/popovers-on-the-square-portsmouth?select=OQTYdI22Gt6YRJtvlr72SQ#OQTYdI22Gt6YRJtvlr72SQ

2 Comments »

  1. Always one of favorite things you made Mom!

    Comment by Sandra Murawski — January 9, 2014 @ 4:32 pm | Reply

  2. yumm. I’ll take several. :)

    Comment by merry101 — January 9, 2014 @ 10:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

