CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

November 15, 2012

What If…I’d Not Changed My College Major?


CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

WHAT IF…I’D NOT CHANGED MY COLLEGE MAJOR?

WordPress.com provides a daily writing prompt to encourage post writing. On November 14, 2012 the prompt was as follows:

Revisionist History: Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

Easy. I could choose several life events. Here’s one:

“We have a plum assignment for your internship,” my occupational therapy professor said when I told her I was changing my college major. “You shouldn’t change your major due to marriage.”

She must have believed I was a worthy student, believed in me, because she took my interests at heart. For example, a final exam in an activities class ended with an activity: students were to make a hat representing a recent event in their lives. Laid out on the table was an assorted pile of miscellany that included scraps of fabric, silk flowers, jewelry parts, etc. Included in the pile were white flowers, white netting, and a hair-band. Her intention for me was quite obvious. I could create a wedding hat. The most important event in my recent life was my marriage.

I had decided to change my major because I wanted to start my family and had agreed with my new husband that we would wait until I received my college degree. It was going to take two years to complete the requirements for the occupational therapy degree, and one year if I changed my major.

My professor wanted me to finish my occupational therapy studies.

I was a non-traditional student. I had an associate’s degree in medical laboratory technology, but wanted more. Plus, I wanted to get away from the laboratory chemicals.  We were married nine months later.

My life has followed an interesting trajectory with the sociology degree I earned. It helped me get a job in an adoption agency during the time we ourselves were experiencing the adoption process. It led me to work in family home child care and in healing adults of traumatic childhood incidents.

However, I sometimes regret not following through on my occupational therapy studies, and sometimes wonder what experiences I would have had in the medical field would have been.

Ultimately, either choice would have allowed me to use my God-given gifts to benefit myself and others in my life. For that, I am grateful.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Alphabet News Stories: November 11, 2012: http://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/alphabet-news-stories-november-11-2012/

Chris Moore Was in Jones Mills (PA) to Interview Chuck Martin

For Whom Does the Bell Toll?:  http://carolyncholland.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/for-whom-does-the-bell-toll/

Weekly Photo Challenge: Possibility

http://dailypost.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/pad2012-2x.png

1 Comment »

  1. YOU DID GOOD…CAROLYN

    Comment by Joan — November 15, 2012 @ 9:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

What is your opinion?

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

